www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Simple javascript form issue

Simple javascript form issue

Hi guys!

As a newbie I'm trying to make a very simple email form work, but after hours and hours of lurking I still can't resolve it.
    The problem is that firefox refuses to submit the form correctly while also clearing it, yet this works fine in Chrome and IE.

At the moment the code submits in all browsers, but doesnt clear in any of them. If I remove the "action" parameter
    from the GetElementById it will submit and clear in Chrome / IE but not in Firefox.

Form:

Code:
    <form id="mail" action="insert.php" method="post" target="_blank" />
    <input type="text" class="input" id="email" name="email" value="" />
    <input type="submit" class="submit" id="email" value="SIGN UP!" onClick="restore();" />
    </form>
    present function:

Code:
    function restore() 
    {
    document.getElementById("mail").submit(action);
    document.getElementById("mail").reset();

}
    Any ideas?
    Thanks very much!
    David

Why are you calling submit() when it's going to be called automatically?
    The moment you submit a form, the browser starts to load the 'action' url and there's no guarantee regarding what can or cannot happen subsequently on the current page.

If you want to submit form values without navigating to a new page, you can use an AJAX request, but the process will be script-dependent.

The action parameter in the submit function is undefined, that's why Firefox gives an error and doesn't submit the form. If you want to pass form action to submit function you should write:
    Code:
    document.getElementById("mail").submit(this.action);
    When you add onclick handler via html attribute keyword this will always refer to that tag.