Thread: Move record to another table before deleting

Move record to another table before deleting

Hi all. I'm new to php and am trying to get past something that's probably quite simple. I've got a form with a while loop showing a list of tasks. The task can be deleted with this button:

<a href="delete.php?recordID=<?php echo $row_tasks['id']; ?>">
    <input type="submit" name="submit" id="submit" value="" />

It posts to delete.php where I've got this code to delete the record.

PHP Code:
    if ((isset($_GET['recordID'])) && ($_GET['recordID'] != "")) {
    $deleteSQL sprintf("DELETE FROM tasks WHERE id=%s",
    GetSQLValueString($_GET['recordID'], "int"));

$Result1 mysql_query($deleteSQL$test) or die(mysql_error());

$deleteGoTo "index.php";
      if (isset(
    $deleteGoTo .= (strpos($deleteGoTo'?')) ? "&" "?";
    $deleteGoTo .= $_SERVER['QUERY_STRING'];
    header(sprintf("Location: %s"$deleteGoTo));

$query_tasks "SELECT * FROM tasks";
    $Recordset2 mysql_query($query_tasks$test) or die(mysql_error());
    $row_tasks mysql_fetch_assoc($tasks);
    $totalRows_tasks mysql_num_rows($tasks); 
    I need to edit this code so the record being passed inserts into another table before it gets deleted. Can anyone point me in the right direction? Thanks guys

My first suggestion would be to not move it, but instead mark it as deleted. This could either be a "status" field which can have different values to indicate what status applies, including, for example, 'D' for deleted. Or you could just have a separate column only for indicating when it is deleted. This would mean you would update your regular listing queries to include a check of that column's value, e.g.:
    . . . WHERE status != 'D' . . .
    Why I like such an approach is that it makes it easy to generate reports and such since all the historical data is in that one table, plus I just don't like having more tables than I really need.