dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: ReCAPTCHA?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    51

    ReCAPTCHA?

    I have a client who wants to implement ReCAPTCHA on a form. The entire site is done in HTML, no PHP or any other programming language. I've looked at ReCAPTCHA and I don't see instructions for doing this in a strictly HTML environment. Does it have to be implemented in a PHP page? I'm sure I'll have more questions but I want to start here.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1,160
    You can't implement reCAPTCHA in pure HTML. It requires scripting support both on the page that generates the form and the script that processes the form submission. It's almost certain that the server that hosts your website supports PHP, so you should be able to add this capability if you like. You should even be able to find ready-made scripts available to help you if you don't have experience with PHP. Good luck!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    51
    Thanks. I don't have PHP experience but I've seen some code examples I can use. I just have to convince the client that the page name of the form needs to change. I'm pretty sure her host supports PHP.

    Thanks again.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    720
    reCAPTCHA is a free CAPTCHA service that helps to digitize books, newspapers and old time radio shows. A CAPTCHA is a program that can tell whether its user is a human or a computer. You've probably seen them — colorful images with distorted text at the bottom of Web registration forms.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    452
    you can accomplish the goal without renaming your file

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    51
    ZABI,

    How would you do this? With an iframe or something?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    452
    not really!

    you can URL Rewrite html files to php or you can configure your server to handle html files as php

    for more information you can search those terms on net. or feel free to ask me if you need more help.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    1453 Gingerwood ave, Milpitas CA 95035,
    Posts
    37
    Can you change the PHP coding of Recaptcha into HTML....
    I m not sure, just a doubt arise so want to clarify here....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    452
    NO PHP is a Programming language while HTML is a Markup language. two cannot be replaced with each other. what you can do is to URL rewrite ur pages so that PHP can do the job while maintaining the links that contain .html extentions

  10. #10
    Can you try the Google reCaptcha. It is the best one to prevent the spam details.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    11
    This documentation is designed for people familiar with HTML forms and server-side processing. But if your client doesn’t need HTML you can't implement reCAPTCHA in pure HTML.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1,160
    What may be confusing for you and your client is that PHP scripts (software) output HTML to the user's browser. That is, to the user, a page generated by a PHP script is indistinguishable from a plain text HTML file.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles