www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Firefox incompatibility

Hybrid View

Firefox incompatibility

Hi all,

I'm tackling my first proper "HTML" & "CSS" project, coding in Coda 2. The website spr8.wildapricot.org displays properly in Safari and Chrome, but the tables & positioning seem to be shifted in Firefox. As I'm new to this I can't begin to picture what I've done.

A good problem example page is: http://www.spr8.wildapricot.org/Defa...pageId=1421907

Any suggestions as to what the problem is? All help is hugely appreciated!

Also, I tried to add example code to this message, but the it says I can't add my own tags? How can I get around this? Cheers!

You have to have posted a certain number of messages before you can post code here.

I don't mean to be harsh, but the code for your page is so convoluted that I didn't really try to see what the issues might be. It looks like the page suffers from having been edited and re-edited so many times that the code generator has left behind dozens of stray empty <div>s and other artifacts from IE conditionals that make it indecipherable. I stopped looking when I saw some inline CSS where an element had a z-index of 83 for a page where the only 'magic' is a cascading menu and a current page indicator icon.

My advice would be to start over from scratch, mate. If I had to guess, I'd bet that any Firefox issues are down to some questionable syntax in your stylesheets or default margin settings, but that's only a guess. At this point, trying to fix the existing code would not be the most productive choice. Even if a quick fix is possible, the code is in a state that will likely lead to continuing problems going forward. Good luck!
    Rick Trethewey
    Rainbo Design

Quote Originally Posted by rtrethewey View Post
    You have to have posted a certain number of messages before you can post code here.