www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Get results from "onclick" actions

Hybrid View

Get results from "onclick" actions

Dear JavaScript Users and Developers,

I am new to JavaScript, but have experience in other programming languages. I challenged myself to solve a programming problem that would be useful to me.

There is a web page that I want to extract data from. This should be done in an automated way. Specifically, I want to save and later parse the html markup that an "onclick" link generates. This looks something like this:

HTML Code:
    <a class="listContentLink" onclick="auctionResultListForm.auctionResultListAction.value='detail';auctionResultListForm.auctionResultListIndex.value=0;submitForm(auctionResultListForm);" href="#">
    The notable thing is that the value in
    HTML Code:
    auctionResultListForm.auctionResultListIndex.value=0;
    gets incremented by 1 for all the links I want to save/parse. So I thought I should be able to execute that "onclick" with varying "values" 0,1,2,... and post-process the resulting html.

Am I completely wrong? Is JavaScript the right tool for this?

I am using the Firebug extension to Firefox. If there is additional information needed, please tell me so.

Thanks in advance and Best Regards,
    moinmoin

I'm honestly not sure what the question is. Or how to interpret this:

The notable thing is that the value in
    HTML Code:
    auctionResultListForm.auctionResultListIndex.value=0;
    gets incremented by 1 for all the links I want to save/parse.
    Are you saying you want the click to increment that value? Or that this sort of link appears N times on the page, each setting {}.value to something unique?

In either case, I'm still not sure I understand he question.