www.webdeveloper.com
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 25 of 25

Thread: Can't find my stupid mistake!

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    233
    You need another question mark after INET_ATON. Also instead of setting a PHP variable you can just use the mysql function NOW().
    ~Ryan
    www.rdennispallas.com <-- Personal Site, changing regularly cuz its ugly.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    24
    If I use the function NOW() then it returns:
    Fatal error: Call to undefined function NOW()
    I'm not concerned about that at the moment.

    After adding in the question mark at the end (and removing one preceeding the INET_ATON), it now inserts data into mysql!
    Yay!

    However...
    oddly enough, it's only inserting either 1 or 0 values across the board, as opposed to actual values.
    I.E.:

    idnumber;"employeename";"employeeref";"weeksperyear";"montownfrom";"monpostcodefrom";"montownto";"mo npostcodeto";"monmiles";"tuetownfrom";"tuepostcodefrom";"tuetownto";"tuepostcodeto";"tuemiles";"wedt ownfrom";"wedpostcodefrom";"wedtownto";"wedpostcodeto";"wedmiles";"thutownfrom";"thupostcodefrom";"t hutownto";"thupostcodeto";"thumiles";"fritownfrom";"fripostcodefrom";"fritownto";"fripostcodeto";"fr imiles";"sattownfrom";"satpostcodefrom";"sattownto";"satpostcodeto";"satmiles";"suntownfrom";"sunpos tcodefrom";"suntownto";"sunpostcodeto";"sunmiles";"summiles";"moncheck";"tuecheck";"wedcheck";"thuch eck";"fricheck";"satcheck";"suncheck";"monhours";"tuehours";"wedhours";"thuhours";"frihours";"sathou rs";"sunhours";"sumhours";"montravel";"tuetravel";"wedtravel";"thutravel";"fritravel";"sattravel";"s untravel";"monmealcheck";"tuemealcheck";"wedmealcheck";"thumealcheck";"frimealcheck";"satmealcheck"; "sunmealcheck";"moneveningmealcheck";"tueeveningmealcheck";"wedeveningmealcheck";"thueveningmealchec k";"frieveningmealcheck";"sateveningmealcheck";"suneveningmealcheck";"monovernightcheck";"tueovernig htcheck";"wedovernightcheck";"thuovernightcheck";"friovernightcheck";"satovernightcheck";"sunovernig htcheck";"declarationcheck";"ip";"created"
    2;"1";"1";"0000-00-00";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1"; "1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"0";"0";"0";"0";"0";"0";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1"; "1";"0";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"0";"0";"0";"0";"0";"0";"1";"0";"0";"0";"0";"0";"0";"0";"0"; "0";"0";"0";"0";"0";"1";"2140706433";"28"
    3;"1";"1";"0000-00-00";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1"; "1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"0";"0";"0";"0";"0";"0";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1"; "1";"0";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"1";"0";"0";"0";"0";"0";"0";"1";"0";"0";"0";"0";"0";"0";"0";"0"; "0";"0";"0";"0";"0";"1";"2140706433";"28"

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    24
    This last one is bugging the hell out of me
    I can't figure out why it's posting 1's and 0's...

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    24
    Don't suppose you have any ideas Derokorian?

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    19,331
    Sounds like the "NOW()" is being interpreted as a PHP function call, which suggests it's not properly in your SQL string (you want it to be called as a MySQL function).
    PHP Code:
    // correct
    $sql "INPUT INTO table_name (datetime_column) VALUES (NOW())";

    // incorrect
    $sql "INPUT INTO table_name (datetime_column) VALUES (" NOW() . ")"
    "Please give us a simple answer, so that we don't have to think, because if we think, we might find answers that don't fit the way we want the world to be."
    ~ Terry Pratchett in Nation

    eBookworm.us

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    24
    DO you think that's what's causing it to insert 1's and 0's instead of data from the form?

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    24
    If anyone would be able to take a look at the code and help me in figuring out why it seems to only insert 1's and 0's into the mysql server, i would be forever grateful.
    I'm tearing my hair out at this point!

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    233
    Hi Lazarix,

    to understand why its inserting 1s and 0s try running this code:

    PHP Code:
    <?php

    $var 
    "something";

    echo 
    "Variable isset: " . isset($var);
    echo 
    "Variable not isset: " . isset($fake);
    What's happening is the TRUE and FALSE are constants that map to 1 and 0, respectively. So when you try to insert them into the database, you end up with 1 and 0.

    Edit: I must be wrong about FALSE as its not outputting anything. But the true version is inputting 1.
    Last edited by Derokorian; 11-30-2012 at 01:22 PM.
    ~Ryan
    www.rdennispallas.com <-- Personal Site, changing regularly cuz its ugly.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    24
    When I run that code it says:

    Variable isset: 1Variable not isset:

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    24
    I'd really appreciate anyone's help at this point! i'm really stuck with this 1 and 0 problem

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles