www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: JavaScript function with AJAX

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    5

    JavaScript function with AJAX

    Hi everybody!

    I want to load one listbox on the basis of the another in Java. The following function should work while I change country list.

    <script>
    function loadCountryRegion() {
    var selectedCountryName = document.getElementById("listCountry").value;
    $('#listCountryRegion').html('');
    $.ajax({
    type : 'GET',
    dataType : 'json',
    url : 'cs?action=getCountryRegionList&listCountry='+ selectedCountryName,
    success : function(data) {
    $.each(data.CountryRegionList, function(i, region) {
    $("#listCountryRegion").append(
    '<option value="' + region.name +'">'
    + region.name + '</option>');
    });
    },

    });
    }
    </script>

    But selectedCountryName is null. It doesn't contain the country name.

    Could you please advise why it is null and what should I do?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    227
    Well, is the element with the id listCountry a <select> or other type of input element?

    (Also, JavaScript is not the same as Java.)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    5
    listCountry is the id of 1st listbox (<select>) and listCountryRegion is the id of 2nd which I would like to populate based
    on the 1st one.
    I am developing my project using Java web technologies so I need to work with JQuery, Ajax, HTML, Javascript.
    Variable selectedCountryName does not get country name from the listbox and I am wondering why? Maybe page is not
    refreshed?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    227
    If listCountry is an existing select element then document.getElementById("listCountry").value should be a string no matter what. If listCountry would be another kind of element than a select element, for example a paragraph, then the value property should be undefined, not null. Are you sure it's not document.getElementById("listCountry") that returns null? If that's the case then listCountry simply does not exist. (Maybe there's a misspelling somewhere.)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    5
    No, there is no misspelling. When I select the country name from the drop down list function does not get the name but when I click on submit button it gets. So I am wandering why it happens?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    227
    Could you post the html code?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Portsmouth UK
    Posts
    2,709
    Vic

    God loves you and will never love you less.

    http://www.vicsjavascripts.org/Home.htm
    If my post has been useful please donate to http://www.operationsmile.org.uk/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    5
    The code is as below:

    <script>
    function loadCountryRegion() {
    var selectedCountryName = document.getElementById("listCountry").value;
    $('#listCountryRegion').html('');
    $.ajax({
    type : 'GET',
    dataType : 'json',
    url : 'cs?action=getCountryRegionList&countryName='+ selectedCountryName,
    success : function(data) {
    $.each(data.CountryRegionList, function(i, region) {
    $("#listCountryRegion").append(
    '<option value="' + region.name +'">'
    + region.name + '</option>');
    });
    },


    });

    }
    </script>

    <form action="cs?action=saveDistrict" method="post">
    <select name = "listCountry" id="listCountry" onchange="loadCountryRegion();">
    List<Country> countryList = (List<Country>) request.getAttribute(Constants.COUNTRY_LIST);
    <%for (Country country:countryList){ %>
    <option name = <%=country.getCountryName() %>><%=country.getCountryName() %></option>
    %} %>
    </select>

    <select name = "listCountryRegion" id = "listCountryRegion">
    <%-- List<Region> regionList = (List<Region>) request.getAttribute(Constants.REGION_LIST);
    for (Region region:regionList){ --%>
    <option value = ''Choose Region''></option>
    <%--} --%>
    </select>
    District: <input type="text" name="txtDistrict"/>
    <input type="submit" name = btnSaveDistrict value = "Add District"/>
    </form>


    When I choose country name from drop-down box and submit the button it takes and saves the name, but function does not get.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    227
    Well, uh, if I change the <% code... %> to something appropriate it works in Chrome and Firefox though not in IE, but you should really take a closer look at your HTML code.

    Code:
    <select name = "listCountry" id="listCountry" onchange="loadCountryRegion();">
    List<Country> countryList = (List<Country>) request.getAttribute(Constants.COUNTRY_LIST);
    <%for (Country country:countryList){ %>
    Pretty sure that's supposed to be inside the <% %>

    Here you're missing quotation marks around the value for the name attribute:
    Code:
    <option name = <%=country.getCountryName() %>><%=country.getCountryName() %></option>
    And here you've surrounded the attribute value with two single quotation marks instead of using double quotation marks:
    Code:
    <option value = ''Choose Region''></option>
    There's nothing wrong with the JavaScript.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center

"

"

X vBulletin 4.2.2 Debug Information

  • Page Generation 0.16806 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,934KB
  • Queries Executed 15 (?)
More Information
Template Usage (33):
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_global_above_footer
  • (1)ad_global_below_navbar
  • (1)ad_global_header1
  • (1)ad_global_header2
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)ad_thread_first_post_content
  • (1)ad_thread_last_post_content
  • (3)bbcode_code
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)headinclude_bottom
  • (9)memberaction_dropdown
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (1)navbar_moderation
  • (1)navbar_noticebit
  • (1)navbar_tabs
  • (2)option
  • (9)postbit
  • (9)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (9)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available (6):
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files (26):
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/class_bootstrap.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_navigation.php
  • ./includes/class_friendly_url.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/class_bootstrap_framework.php
  • ./vb/vb.php
  • ./vb/phrase.php
  • ./includes/functions_facebook.php
  • ./includes/functions_calendar.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_notice.php
  • ./packages/vbattach/attach.php
  • ./vb/types.php
  • ./vb/cache.php
  • ./vb/cache/db.php
  • ./vb/cache/observer/db.php
  • ./vb/cache/observer.php 

Hooks Called (72):
  • init_startup
  • friendlyurl_resolve_class
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • database_pre_fetch_array
  • database_post_fetch_array
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • global_bootstrap_init_start
  • global_bootstrap_init_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • load_show_variables
  • load_forum_show_variables
  • global_state_check
  • global_bootstrap_complete
  • global_start
  • style_fetch
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • strip_bbcode
  • friendlyurl_clean_fragment
  • friendlyurl_geturl
  • forumjump
  • cache_templates
  • cache_templates_process
  • template_register_var
  • template_render_output
  • fetch_template_start
  • fetch_template_complete
  • parse_templates
  • fetch_musername
  • notices_check_start
  • notices_noticebit
  • process_templates_complete
  • friendlyurl_redirect_canonical
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • memberaction_dropdown
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • build_navigation_data
  • build_navigation_array
  • check_navigation_permission
  • process_navigation_links_start
  • process_navigation_links_complete
  • set_navigation_menu_element
  • build_navigation_menudata
  • build_navigation_listdata
  • build_navigation_list
  • set_navigation_tab_main
  • set_navigation_tab_fallback
  • navigation_tab_complete
  • fb_like_button
  • showthread_complete
  • page_templates