www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: counting array elements in OOP

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    281

    counting array elements in OOP

    I'm trying to set up some vars in a class and need to count an object in an array but am not doing it right obviously..

    proceedurally it woud be this

    PHP Code:
    $productIDs = array(127879153);
    $count count($productIDs); 
    but that causes an error in this context.

    PHP Code:
    class myClass extends base {
        
    $productIDs = array(127879153);
        
    $count count($productIDs);

    i've this and a few other variations below...
    PHP Code:
    $count count($this->productIDs); 
    big thanks for any help on this...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    19,384
    If you really need to know the size of the array without wanting to simply access the array directly and do a count() as needed, you could just create a method, so it's always up-to-date any regardless of any changes made to the array:
    PHP Code:
    class myClass extends base {
        private 
    $productIDs = array(127879153); // change to public if you really want direct read/write access

        /**
         * Use this when you just want the count without actually accessing the array
         */
        
    public function getCount()
        {
            return 
    count($this->prodcutIDs);
        }

    "Please give us a simple answer, so that we don't have to think, because if we think, we might find answers that don't fit the way we want the world to be."
    ~ Terry Pratchett in Nation

    eBookworm.us

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    281
    thanks NogDog. for some reasons i'm getting errors..?

    PHP Code:
    class hazMatProduct extends base {

    private 
    $hazMatProdsOne = array(115,162);
    private 
    $hazMatProdsTwo = array(498382);
     
    public function 
    getCount($arr) {
            return 
    count($this->$arr);
        }
    $countHM1 getCount($hazMatProdsOne);

    var 
    $cartAmount 300
    if i comment out the function getCount and $countHM1 the errors go away.
    maybe has to do w/ framework i'm using
    Last edited by toptomato; 02-07-2013 at 10:46 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    233
    The "function" is actually a method that's a member of a class yet you are trying to call it like a regular function. Instead you need to instantiate the class and then call the method from that object.

    PHP Code:
    class hazMatProduct extends base {

    private 
    $hazMatProdsOne = array(115,162);
    private 
    $hazMatProdsTwo = array(498382);
     
    public function 
    getCount($arr) {
          if( 
    $arr ==  || $arr == "one" )
             return 
    count($this->hazMatProdsOne);
          if( 
    $arr == || $arr == "two" )
             return 
    count($this->hazMatProdsTwo);
        }
    }
    $hmp = new hazMatProduct();
    $countHM1 $hmp->getCount("One"); 
    ~Ryan
    www.rdennispallas.com <-- Personal Site, changing regularly cuz its ugly.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    281
    thanks for answering my post.

    but i need that variable, the array length, for another function that needs to be defined within the class. can you advise?

    i like yer getCount function, thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    19,384
    Quote Originally Posted by toptomato View Post
    thanks for answering my post.

    but i need that variable, the array length, for another function that needs to be defined within the class. can you advise?

    i like yer getCount function, thanks
    You can either call that method internally whenever you need it, or just do a $count=count($this->hazMatProdsOne) itself within the method where it's needed. If you really feel it's desirable to have the count as a separate variable (for now I've not seen any reason to, as far as my programming tastes go), you could populate it via your constructor method:
    PHP Code:
    class Foo
    {
        private 
    $hazMatProdsOne = array(115,162);
        private 
    $hazMatProdsTwo = array(498382); 
        private 
    $countHazMatProdsOne;
        private 
    $countHazMatProdsTwo;
        public function 
    __construct()
        {
            
    $this->countHazMatProdsOne count($this->$hazMatProdsOne);
            
    $this->countHazMatProdsTwo count($this->$hazMatProdsTwo);
        }

    Of course, if we're really going to get all OOP about this, it might be that each of those "hasMatProds" arrays should actually be objects, whose class might contain a count() method.
    "Please give us a simple answer, so that we don't have to think, because if we think, we might find answers that don't fit the way we want the world to be."
    ~ Terry Pratchett in Nation

    eBookworm.us

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    88

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles