www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: asp vs asp.net

asp vs asp.net

I am looking for some advice on which way to go. I am a web designer and use asp for some basic things, but I'd like to learn more. Can someone give me your opinion on whether someone new should learn classic asp or jump into asp.net? I know most people will be using asp.net in the future, so I'll need to learn it, but it seems that a lot of people still use asp, so it would be good to know. Is asp easier to learn than asp.net, and would it be easier to learn asp.net after learning asp? Is asp.net more of an upgrade where asp would be helpful to know, or a complete restructuring where I'd be better off skipping the old asp?

One more thing - is asp.net more of an enterprise solution than asp or should it be used regardless of project size?

Thanks for any opinions!

First off, I am a weekend web programmer. I do VBA6 on Access to a SQL backend at my day job. I have completed one site in ASP classic. My first advice would be to take a running start and jump right into asp.net. There is a steep learning curve, but do not give up. It can be used to develop much quicker, etc. It is also OOP so you will need to do focused thought before you begin a project. asp.net is a part of the '.net framework'. This whole package addresses many problems from the past(and it does add it's own set of problems), but is truely the next step in the right direction. As I read somewhere else on the internet. You are either on the bus or you are not. Check out http://www.franklins.net/dotnetrocks.asp for interviews with 'industory pundits' on their views for the .net framework.

good question

I started learning ASP 2 years ago and found it complex to start with but like everyone once you get going you'll eventually get the hang of it.
    Over the last 6 months i have been learning ASP.NET using VB.NET and not C#.NET.