www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Attempt to insert data into SQLite database

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    20

    Attempt to insert data into SQLite database

    Hello, i am trying to insert data about picture in the Picture table. I do not understand what's going on here, but nothing works. Basically, the database file is created so it's fine. The only issue is inserting new values. I am using method post. Can anyone tell me what am I doing wrong? Thanks in advance.

    Creating database file:
    Code:
    <?
    
    $db=sqlite_open("art.db");
    
    
    
    @sqlite_query($db, "DROP TABLE Picture");
    @sqlite_query($db, "DROP TABLE Artist");
    @sqlite_query($db, "DROP TABLE Sales");
    @sqlite_query($db,"CREATE TABLE Picture (ID integer  PRIMARY KEY , name VARCHAR[200], year integer, artistID integer)",$sqliteerror);
    @sqlite_query($db,"CREATE TABLE Artist (IDnum integer PRIMARY KEY , aname VARCHAR[10], DOB integer, DOD integer, nationality VARCHAR[200])",$sqliteerror);
    @sqlite_query($db,"CREATE TABLE Sales (picID integer PRIMARY KEY , sdate date, price decimal)",$sqliteerror);
    
    
    
    sqlite_query($db,"INSERT INTO Picture (ID, name, year, artistID) VALUES ( 1, 'The Hay Wain', 1821, 4 )");
    sqlite_query($db,"INSERT INTO Picture (ID, name, year, artistID) VALUES ( 2, 'Salisbury Cathedral from the Meadows', 1831, 4 )");
    sqlite_query($db,"INSERT INTO Picture (ID, name, year, artistID) VALUES ( 3, 'A Wheatfield with Cypresses', 1889, 7 )");
    
    
    sqlite_query($db,"INSERT INTO Artist (IDnum, aname, DOB, DOD, nationality) VALUES ( 4, 'John Constable', 1776, 1837, 'British' )");
    sqlite_query($db,"INSERT INTO Artist (IDnum, aname, DOB, DOD, nationality) VALUES ( 7, 'Vincent Van Gogh', 1853, 1890, 'Dutch' )");
    
    
    sqlite_query($db,"INSERT INTO Sales (picID, sdate, price) VALUES ( 1, 2008-01-01, 23.56 )");
    sqlite_query($db,"INSERT INTO Sales (picID, sdate, price) VALUES ( 1, 2008-01-09, 500230.00 )");
    sqlite_query($db,"INSERT INTO Sales (picID, sdate, price) VALUES ( 1, 2009-12-15, 87.56 )");
    
    
    
    
    sqlite_close($db);

    Html interface for inserting data about picture:
    Code:
    <html>
    <head>
    </head>
    <body>
    <form action="process.php" method="POST">
        <table>
            <tr>
                <td>ID:</td><td><input name="ID"/></td>
            </tr>
            <tr>
                <td>Name:</td><td><input name="Name"/></td>
            </tr>
            <tr>
                <td>Year:</td><td><input name="Year"></textarea></td>
            </tr>
    		<tr>
                <td>ArtistID:</td><td><input name="ArtistID"></textarea></td>
            </tr>
            <tr>
                <td></td><td><input type="submit" name="submit" value="Submit"/></td>
            </tr>
        </table>
    </form>
    </body>
    </html>

    PHP file inserting the actual data and trying to display it in the table:
    Code:
    <body>
    <?php
    
    //SQLite Database test query
    
    $db=sqlite_open("art.db");
    
    $ID = $_POST["ID"]; 
    $name = $_POST["name"]; 
    $Year = $_POST["Year"];
    $ArtistID = $_POST["ArtistID"];
    
    sqlite_query($db,"INSERT INTO Picture (ID, name, year, artistID) VALUES ( '&ID', '&name', '&Year', '&ArtistID' )");
    
    //now output the data to a simple html table...
    echo "<table border=1>";
    echo "<tr><td>Id</td><td>Name</td><td>Year</td><td>ArtistID</td></tr>";
    while($row=sqlite_fetch_array($result,SQLITE_ASSOC ))
    {
    	echo "<tr>";
    	echo "<td>" . $row['ID'] . "</td>";
    	echo "<td>" . $row['name'] . "</td>";
    	echo "<td>" . $row['Year'] . "</td>";
            echo "<td>" . $row['ArtistID'] . "</td>";
    
       echo "</tr>";
    }
    echo "</table>";
    
    
    sqlite_close($db);
    
    	
    ?>
    
    </body>
    </html>
    ____________________________________________
    Don't confuse your path with your destination ...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    19,408
    I'd suggest checking the return value from each sqlite_*() call, and if false, output or log debug info, including whatever sqlite_error_string() has to say at that point. Then we can narrow down where the problem(s) is (are).
    "Please give us a simple answer, so that we don't have to think, because if we think, we might find answers that don't fit the way we want the world to be."
    ~ Terry Pratchett in Nation

    eBookworm.us

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    20
    Thank you for the reply. However, I do not know how to do that cause I am new to all this stuff.
    ____________________________________________
    Don't confuse your path with your destination ...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    19,408
    The quick and dirty way:
    PHP Code:
    $result sqlite_query($db,"INSERT INTO Picture (ID, name, year, artistID) VALUES ( '&ID', '&name', '&Year', '&ArtistID' )");
    if(
    $result == false) {
        die(
    "Insert failed: ".sqlite_error_string());

    "Please give us a simple answer, so that we don't have to think, because if we think, we might find answers that don't fit the way we want the world to be."
    ~ Terry Pratchett in Nation

    eBookworm.us

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    468
    two things that jumped out at me:

    PHP Code:
    sqlite_query($db,"INSERT INTO Picture (ID, name, year, artistID) VALUES ( '&ID', '&name', '&Year', '&ArtistID' )"); 
    Should it not be:
    PHP Code:
    ... VALUES '$ID''$name''$Year''$ArtistID' )  // dollar, not ampersand 
    PHP Code:
    $name $_POST["name"]; // based on the form, this should be "Name" 
    Last edited by OctoberWind; 02-26-2013 at 11:15 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    20
    NotDog, thank you very much for your example of error handling. I shall practice this and use for future.
    OctoberWind, i've noticed earlier my mistake which was using & instead of $ and corrected it. I haven't noticed, however that in my form it was "Name" with capital N, and this is why the program wasn't working properly.
    Now everything works just as it should be ! ))))))
    ____________________________________________
    Don't confuse your path with your destination ...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles