www.webdeveloper.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Setting Value of Hidden Form Element

Setting Value of Hidden Form Element

Hey guys,

I am new to Javascript and figured this would be the best place to post this question.
    I am trying to use Javascript to set the value of a hidden Form Element.

I need to call the function on click of another element(radio button set).

The radio button set has only two options.
    Whenever either is clicked i want to call the code to evaluate the condition and set the value of the hidden element.

So the two questions are:

1) where do i need to place my code in respect to the form HTML and how do i call the function from an element click.

2) how do i set the value of the hidden form element. (the value content will be a URL)

Hope this question isn't too stupid for this forum.
    Thanx alot,
    John

<input type="radio" name="hi" value="1" onclick="document.form.hiddenfield.value='23';">
    Richard Turner - A Virtual Insight

wow

man... would you ever laugh if you saw my attempted solution. i was WAY overworking myself. i suppose on something like this i should have expected a slightly simpler solution. thank you very much.

~John

one more problem...

that code generated no errors but i am not getting my desired result.

The value of the hidden field is to be read by a cgi when the form is submitted. somehow the cgi is not picking up the value set onlclick of the radio button.

however it does pick it up when i set it manually like
    <input type=hidden name="redirect" value="http://www.etc.com">.

So the CGI picks up a value but not the one i am setting.

(the cgi is a simple formmail)

~John

are you using this code

<input type="radio" name="hi" value="1" onclick="document.form.hiddenfield.value='http://www.etc.com';">?

should ov said b4 u need to change hiddenfield to redirect and form to your form name

yeah

yeah i know. the form name and elementname are changed to match my form.

perhaps...