dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: ASP pages get server error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Norwood, MA
    Posts
    187

    Question ASP pages get server error

    Hello all!

    I'm serving some ASP pages on a Windows 2003 server and now the content is being moved to another server, same sysop and everything. The problem I'm getting is that all my ASP pages get a 500 internal server error and I can't figure out why!! ASP is running and enabled for my website, so it should run... but doens't...

    Any idea what might be going on?

    Thanks!!!

    Me

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auburn, AL
    Posts
    9,222
    a lot of things can cause the dreaded #500

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    5,298
    #500 erros just mean the script has a syntax error or that your server is running an old version of ASP..

    I suggest you post your source code.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auburn, AL
    Posts
    9,222
    Originally posted by buntine
    #500 erros just mean the script has a syntax error or that your server is running an old version of ASP..

    I suggest you post your source code.
    I used to get them due to web farm problems. For some reason that host rotated data around and it not only meant 500 errors, but It was also dropping sessions. This was on w2k servers though, and those are not well built for web farms.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Norwood, MA
    Posts
    187
    Hi all,

    Thanks for the feedback. The problem is my code is working just fine on the original Windows 2003 server, but not on the new one. Is there some obscure IIS setting I might have missed? Comparing settings both servers have the same configuration, but I didn't do exactly a point-by-point comparison.

    Thanks again and keep the ideas coming!!!

    Natalia

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    5,298
    As stated beofre, a internal server error can be cause by one of 100's of things. A IIS setting could definetely cause it.

    Though, it will prove to be difficult for any of us to help you further..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Dundee, Scotland
    Posts
    1,367
    hi,
    does the asp page access a database?

    check to make sure that IUSR_SERVERNAME has access rights to the database.
    IIS default settings are correct for to have everything enabled for ASP to run therefore i would reset IIS back to default settings and try again.
    Thirdly make sure that all the components you are using are also there on the new set up.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    5,298
    Agreed, your server must allow Access to create a temporary .lbd file each time it becomes active.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles