www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: small sudoku implementation help

Hybrid View

small sudoku implementation help

Hi,

I am new to javascript so please be gentle. I am implementing a small 4x4 sudoku (16 cells total). I figured out how to make the tables and how to put buttons inside the cells to allow the user to pick a number. I am stuck on one thing however. How would I clear all the buttons within a cell once a user picks one and just have that number appear in plain text? here's what it looks like so far,

http://i.imgur.com/CLuPSkJ.jpg

For example, after I click on button 1, I want to check if it's valid then clear all the buttons and put "1" into that cell in plain text. Thanks guys.

Well, it is a pretty picture, but if you want some help you will need to supply the code you created it with.

Actually after hours of researching and failures, I figured most of my problems out. I have one last thing that just has to do with the algorithm. I know how to check if there's the same number in the row or column but i can't seem to figure out how to check if a number is in the same quadrant.. The table basically is 4x4 and there are 4 quadrants, how would you go about checking if the same number appears in the quadrant already?

You have questions, but without some code to look at anything I could say would be a pure SWAG.

Use the division of two intergers (by 4 and by 2) with quotient and remainder to get the row, column and quadrant of the cells (from 0 to 15) of your grid. Then the code is something like this
    Code:
       var nmb;// the number of a cell
       var col = nmb%4; // its column (from 0 to 3)
       var row = (nmb-col)/4 //its row (from 0 to 3)
       var reg = (row%2)*2 + (col%2) //its quadrant (from 0 to 3)
    But binaries are very efficient for Sudokus. For example, with 4x4 grids :
    • each leer cell can be represent by 11110 = (32-1) which means that each value 1, 2, 3, 4 is possible