www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [RESOLVED] Separating JS from HTML

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,377

    resolved [RESOLVED] Separating JS from HTML

    I'm trying to separate the HTML from the JS function, but having not much luck.
    Any ideas why I can not accomplish this?
    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE HTML>
    <html>
    <head>
    <title> FAQ  display</title>
    <meta charset="utf-8">
    
    <style type="text/css">
     dt { line-height: 1.5em; }
    </style>
     
    </head>
    <body>
    
    <h1> FAQ List </h1>
    
     <dl id="FAQlist">
      <dt>faq #1</dt>
      <dd>Answer to FAQ #1</dd>
       <dt>faq #2</dt>
      <dd>Answer to FAQ #2</dd>
      <dt>faq #3</dt>
      <dd>Answer to FAQ #3</dd>
      <dt>More faqs </dt>
      <dd>Answers to additional FAQs</dd>
      <!-- other Questions and Answers follow -->
     </dl>
    
    <script type="text/javascript">
    function toggleDD(IDS) {
      var tmp = document.getElementById(IDS);   
      if (tmp.style.display != 'block') { tmp.style.display = 'block'; }
                                   else { tmp.style.display = 'none'; }
    }
    window.onload = function() {
    // set-up actions of DL, DT and DD display
      var sel = document.getElementById('FAQlist').getElementsByTagName('dt');
      for (var i=0; i<sel.length; i++) {
        sel[i].onclick="toggleDD('faq"+i+"')";
        sel[i].style.cursor= 'pointer';
      }
     
      sel = document.getElementById('FAQlist').getElementsByTagName('dd');
      for (var i=0; i<sel.length; i++) {
        sel[i].id = 'faq'+i;
        sel[i].style.display = 'none';
      }
    // dd and dt must match in pairings of dl list
    }
    </script>
    </body>
    </html>
    I'm not getting any errors, but then it doesn't do what I expect anyway ???
    Expect to toggle display for FAQ answers based upon users click.
    Last edited by JMRKER; 05-06-2013 at 11:14 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Somewhere behind your screen
    Posts
    1,648
    put the script in the head section like all the good boyz do and change it a little:

    Code:
    </style>
     <script type="text/javascript">
    function toggleDD(IDS) {
      var tmp = document.getElementById(IDS);
      if (tmp.style.display != 'block') { tmp.style.display = 'block'; }
                                   else { tmp.style.display = 'none'; }
    }
    window.onload = function() {
    // set-up actions of DL, DT and DD display
      var sel = document.getElementById('FAQlist').getElementsByTagName('dt');
      for (var i=0; i<sel.length; i++){ 
      sel[i].id='dt'+i;
      sel[i].onclick=function(){toggleDD('faq'+this.id.substring(2,this.id.length));}
      }
     
      sel = document.getElementById('FAQlist').getElementsByTagName('dd');
      for (var i=0; i<sel.length; i++) {
        sel[i].id='faq'+i;
        sel[i].style.display = 'none';
        sel[i].style.cursor= 'pointer';
      }
    // dd and dt must match in pairings of dl list
    }
    </script>
    </head>
    Last edited by Padonak; 05-06-2013 at 11:38 AM. Reason: fkn 3G modem missed data
    xxx: Guess Buddhist riddle: "What is the sound of one hand clapping?"
    yyy: facepalm

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,377

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Padonak View Post
    put the script in the head section
    That did nothing. Same results.

    I experimented some more and came up with this solution. Just alter the SCRIPT section to...
    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript">
    function toggleDD(IDS) {
      var tmp = document.getElementById(IDS);   
      if (tmp.style.display != 'block') { tmp.style.display = 'block'; }
                                   else { tmp.style.display = 'none'; }
    }
    window.onload = function() {
    // set-up actions of DL, DT and DD display
      var sel = document.getElementById('FAQlist').getElementsByTagName('dt');
      for (var i=0; i<sel.length; i++) {
        sel[i].id= 'faq'+i;
        sel[i].onclick= function () { toggleDD('_'+this.id); } 
        sel[i].style.cursor= 'pointer';
      }
     
      sel = document.getElementById('FAQlist').getElementsByTagName('dd');
      for (var i=0; i<sel.length; i++) {
        sel[i].id = '_faq'+i;
        sel[i].style.display = 'none';
      }
    // dd and dt must match in pairings of dl display
    }
    </script>
    All else is the same with script just before the </body> tag.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Somewhere behind your screen
    Posts
    1,648
    read again my prev post pls
    xxx: Guess Buddhist riddle: "What is the sound of one hand clapping?"
    yyy: facepalm

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,377
    Quote Originally Posted by Padonak View Post
    read again my prev post pls
    Thanks, that worked too.

    I did not see your code in your posting #2 (perhaps you added it after my post #3 ???)
    or I must have done something wrong when I copied/pasted from my original post.

    Either way, now I have two versions that do the same thing.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Somewhere behind your screen
    Posts
    1,648
    i have internet access through a 3G modem and sometimes some parts of my posts get lost. i noticed that the post #2 is incorrect and reposted the full version
    xxx: Guess Buddhist riddle: "What is the sound of one hand clapping?"
    yyy: facepalm

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles