www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: help appreciated

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    3

    help appreciated

    Why is it that everytime I try to transfer my html code on to my web host, it shows up very choppy and all over the place..I am trying to design my own website but I am not really that knowledgeable about this kind of thing..any information would be grateful..thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    154
    What does "choppy" mean? Your graphics are too low-res? Elaborate, please.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    The Pleiades
    Posts
    31
    Good morning Jeff,

    Post a link to your live site please if you have one.

    What browser were you viewing your website in?

    Kind regards,

    LC.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    3
    LearningCoder - I don't have the link up yet. I am using a webhost called Ning to try and design my web site on. Its more along the lines of a social media site as oppose to a standard website. Because im having so many issues and im not very good at this, I have not been able to get anything up yet so when I go to the link its just a blank canvas of ning. The browser im using is just internet explorer. Thank you for the response. Any help you can give, or any other info I can give you for a more accurate response would be greatly appreciated. I have never designed or set up a website before so this is all new to me. Thank you again!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    3
    Well basically I know very little regarding web design and html/css. I am currently trying to set up a website on my own due to lack of funds to hire someone to do it for me that knows what they are doing. I designed all my documents and page templates on publisher. I saved all the templates as webpages and published as html. When I view the source and copy the code or try to transfer the html and put it up, paste it on the page of the web host im using to design them on there and set it up..., only about 10% of the page comes up and the rest either doesn't come through right or is completely missing. Am I doing this completely wrong or is there something I can change in order to do let the pages show up right? Again, I am very new at this and any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    13
    Make use of w3schools.com to develop a website. It will guide you how to make a proper website with the use of html and dhtml.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    The Pleiades
    Posts
    31
    Hi Jeff,

    Can you provide any code?

    Regards,

    LC.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    293
    if all of the page is not showing up this could be because of the file paths when you load them to the server are incorrect. make sure that your file paths reflect the correct location. Also If your copying and pasting code that can always get a little tricky. If things look right on your local machine try uploading the site through filezilla or some kinda of FTP

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles