dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: XHTML and HTML5

Hybrid View

XHTML and HTML5

After a day or so spent wrestling with a problem - it's time to seek help from those with much more savvy than myself, which is probably most, I am not a native coder and neither am I overly familiar with the way CSS renders things all over a webpage...and many other technical aspects and get by with a lot of trial and error...

Now, that's out of the way, let me continue. I recently resurected an old project which seen a Joomla site converted into static XHTML, complete with CSS and javascript files for whatever was required and much work with the pages, removing any PHP and tons of other redundant tags, messing about with replacement external javascript things like image rotators and further making sure the sites original java functions were operational also - Then more messing about validating the various pages via the WC3 site until all passed. Great!

Well, recently I copied and pasted a chunk of code from a HTML5 page into an XHTML page, linked all relevant CSS and after a lot of fiddling about, eventually got the pasted code lined up underneath the original pages menu and it looks cool, the pasted code is actually a newspaper themed layout, complete with custom fonts and css.

It looks really good and is exactly what I had in mind when starting out, however, when I validated with WC3 it returned about a dozen errors, relating to the tags of the HTML5 code mostly. I understand that the document itself is XHTML1 Transitional and the validator is looking for specific mark up, so <header> for example rings alarm bells.