www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Adding a username/password to a URL or passing username/password to another URL

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    81

    Adding a username/password to a URL or passing username/password to another URL

    Hi All...

    I want the following logic to happen.

    ButtonClick > New window opens > Username/Password are already entered > User clicks 'Login' and is logged into the appropriate site.

    I'm at a loss... I've seen this occur before (Yes... after IE fixed the issue with IE6+), but I can't figure it out on my own... Need some help.

    I've tried this...

    Code:
    Username:PassWord1@university.edu/portal/server.pt
    and this... (using query parameters)

    Code:
    https://xxx.university.edu/portal/server.pt?userName=SomeUser&password=somePassword
    ...but no luck. Wondering if there's a JS for this that would work in IE8?

    Regards,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Versailles, France
    Posts
    1,271
    Use encodeURIComponent with the params

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    81
    The params are in the URL. encodeURIComponent is a JS function. How would I implement that into the URL?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Versailles, France
    Posts
    1,271
    If you want to pass the parameters in URL with a GET request, call the server with javascript like this (W3Crecommandation The "get" method restricts form data set values to ASCII characters):
    Code:
    // the two value (javascript variables) 
    var usrName=document.getElementById('idusrName').value;
    var pssWord=document.getElementById('idPssword').value;
    
    // The call
    document.location='https://xxx.university.edu/portal/server.pt?username='+encodeURIComponent(usrName)+'&password'+encodeURIcomponent(pssWrd);
    This lines are only to write in a submit function...
    Then you have not to decode on the server with the $_GET in PHP (See the note on this page).
    Last edited by 007Julien; 08-07-2013 at 06:09 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    81
    What if I were to contain the school login site on our intranet site, inside an iframe? Would that make any difference?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Somewhere behind your screen
    Posts
    1,671
    why don't you just try it instead of asking? ))

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles