www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Why JS

Why JS

hello.
    i'm new in web development i use php for web (that is a scripting language like javascript), why should we need JS?
    both are scripting language. would i have a problem if i continue not using JS?

- well you can have site without it, but if you want to have site which is "up to date" and probably your client would like to have sites that doesn't stand out (old). then you will need to learn JS. check JQUERY plugin which give you the overall understanding of what can you do using js: http://jqueryui.com/demos/

JavaScript allows you to enhance your webpages so that they respond directly to user actions and create dynamic, animated displays. Effects like revealing additional content when a user clicks on a particular element are done in JavaScript. Validating form entries without requiring a call to the server can be done in JavaScript. Slideshows and other animated image gallery effects are done in JavaScript. In all, JavaScript is a vital skill for any serious web developer.

However, I wouldn't advise trying jQuery until you learn the basics of JavaScript. jQuery is a framework for creating JavaScripts. It includes a large library of built-in functions that are very useful and can significantly speed up your development when you're working on advanced level software. But it comes at the price of loading at least one additional file on every page that uses it, and it won't teach you the fundamentals of JavaScript. Once you know the basics, you can make an intelligent decision about when it make sense to use jQuery.
    Rick Trethewey
    Rainbo Design