www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Writing a JavaScript program for the Pythagorean theorem

Hybrid View

Question Writing a JavaScript program for the Pythagorean theorem

Hi all, I'm a beginner working on a script for the Pythagorean theorem using JavaScript. This assignment requires me to create a functional code that when the button "Compute C!" is clicked, it will display the values of the Triangle within the HTML.

Two things I'm struggling with at the moment:

1. Getting the code to even display on the page (when I click it, somehow nothing happens)
    2. Passing a, b, c to displayResult() when the function is called (still a bit confused about the concept of transferring values from arguments to parameters)

I have this script so far:

<!doctype html>
    <html lang="en">
    <head>
    <title> Functions </title>
    <meta charset="utf-8">
    <script>
    window.onload = init;

function init() {
    var button = document.getElementById("submit");
    button.onclick = pythagoras;
    }

function pythagoras(a, b, c) {
    var a = parseFloat(document.getElementById("a").value);
    var b = parseFloat(document.getElementById("b").value);
    var c = Math.sqrt(a*a + b*b);
    return a, b, c;
    }

function displayResult(a, b, c) {
    var div = document.getElementById("result");
    div.innerHTML = "Triangle: a = " + a + ", b = " + b + ", c = " + c;
    }
    </script>
    </head>
    <body>
    <form>
    <label for="a">Enter lengths for sides a: </label>
    <input type="number" id="a" size="3">
    <label for="b"> and b: </label>
    <input type="number" id="b" size="3"> <br>
    <input type="button" id="submit" value="Compute c!">
    </form>
    <div id="result">
    </div>
    </body>
    </html>

Thanks for your help!