www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: how I can show this social media layer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    2

    how I can show this social media layer

    I saw on the website http://www.kreativ-konzept.com/ a very nice social media feature.
    On mouse over comes up a new layer or window and shows the sharing buttons.

    Does anybody know how I can develop this nice window or layer?

    Tom

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1,651
    Nice idea, but how are mobile users going to access the sharing buttons?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    2
    It also works on mobile devices ('ve tested with a samsung galaxy).
    Does anybody have an Idea how I can realize this feature?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Dubai, UAE
    Posts
    154
    i liked it and the good part is it is responsive which gives it a very good look but why cant i see social media icons in it?


    Regards
    Top Class Artists Dubai
    Web Design Dubai - The Best Web Development Company in Town.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    UAE
    Posts
    98
    Their is no social media layers found on this website

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Chandigarh
    Posts
    63
    There iks no layer used for this mouse hover social media icons, they have instead used an iframe for this purpose. But I don't think using iframes is good for SEO purpose as it makes website heavy and slow.
    In the practice of tolerance, one's enemy is the best teacher.

    Software and Web development

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    1,050
    Quote Originally Posted by Jasonsmith21 View Post
    But I don't think using iframes is good for SEO purpose as it makes website heavy and slow.
    Sadly, EVERY social media plugin uses iFrames -- even facebooks alleged HTML 5 and FBXML versions actually just use javascript to make an iframe. They do so to get around the cross-site policy in most browsers since you can't JS or Ajax across domains in a reliable fashion.

    I do wish they used OBJECT instead, but again OBJECT was originally supposed to be to replace APPLET and IFRAME in 4 Strict, it's why EMBED wasn't accepted into the specification, and we were allegedly supposed to by the next HTML version stop using IMG as well in favor of object.

    Which of course is why the train wreck of pointless bull known as HTML 5 backpedalled on that, accepted EMBED into the spec for no good reason, and added the pointlessly idiotically redundant AUDIO and VIDEO tags.

    That said, the page in question just looks like a normal hover state / dropdown. You do know how to use :hover in your CSS, right? If I was implementing that I'd just set the inner "window" type div to position:absolute, and the outer div to overflow:hidden; When you add :hover on the parent just set it to overflow:visible and poof, that dropdown shows up.

    ... and please, don't copy their gibberish use of a H4.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    1,050
    Oops, didn't notice this was a pointless poster magnet bump.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles