www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: I need help...

I need help...

Hi folks!

I am not a developer but I am building a new start-up and I have really struggled finding a reliable person(s) to build the site I have in mind. I didn't come here with the intention of hiring from this board, just advice. If site rules allow it, I am open to it.

I am in Northern California and I would have thought it was very easy to find someone with the skills to build a site from scratch but all I keep running into are people who call themselves a developer but when I ask them for a list of active URL's that they have personally built, they are often (not always) nothing more than a "cake decorator". In other words, they use templates to build an online brochure and nothing more. No functionality. When I have found folks that appear to have the skills needed, I show them a few sites that are somewhat similar in function to what I need built and the backpedaling begins....

I can't give away the idea I have but essentially, I am looking to build a site that will function very similar to an adult site minus the content. This business will have nothing to do at all with the adult industry (almost the exact opposite) but the website needs to function almost identically. Homepage, paywall (yes, subscription based) and then access to our video lessons. The video lessons need to be categorized and we need to track progress as well as where that student came from (this is where most back out).