www.webdeveloper.com
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Save an HTML table as CSV

Hybrid View

Save an HTML table as CSV

All,

There is a table that I need to import into a MySQL Database. That task seems daunting. Short of that, I'd like a CSV file of the table that I can then upload to my server and import later.

The table I need is behind a user / pass page. I can log in, but do not have access to the scripts, only the HTML.

I have tried doing this with a VBS that had a great number of SendKeys. That has failed and I need another solution.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

If I understand you correctly you need a CSV of a table, but you can only get the table printed out in HTML (as you do not have access to the scripts that read this table)?

I just want to make sure I understand what you are asking before I run off in any direction with my answer.

Yes, that is exactly correct.

I'll be honest in saying I've never done anything like this before. However I'll also be honest in saying I believe what you want is entirely possible. I'll have to sit down and think about the specifics of the script but javascript can be used to loop through a table and place all of the data into a JSON variable. Once you've got the data here then it can be passed to a PHP script that can actually save a .csv file (I do have some code lying around for the PHP to .csv part).

So essentially you'd view the source of the page, copy the table and then paste it into say... a <textarea> on another page. This page would process the table, push it to PHP and it would get saved as a file.

Wow... You make it sound so simple!

In my first post, I noted that my final goal is to take the information in this table and put it into a MySQL Database. I don't need the CSV file per se, it was just a medium for importing in MySQL. If we can hash out way to pull the data in Javascript and import into PHP, I won't need the CSV at all.