www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Problem calling a function for a gaussian distribution, get [object Object] output !?

Question Problem calling a function for a gaussian distribution, get [object Object] output !?

Hello everybody, I am new to JS and programming in general so please forgive my ignorance.

I have found online JS for creating a gaussian distribution and performing other functions on it. However, I have problems getting a reasonable output.

The code is found here: https://github.com/errcw/gaussian/bl...ib/gaussian.js

and function calls here: https://github.com/errcw/gaussian

I am calling the: gaussian(mean, variance) function in eclipse and I get an output [object Object].

Is there is someone to explain why I am having this problem?

Without delving too deep into this it doesn't appear as if anything is wrong. The guassian() function returns an object, not a single value. So essentially you need to put the return value in a variable like so:
    Code:
    var distribution = gaussian(mean, variance);
    But remember that the variable 'distribution' is still an object, not a string or number so you can't simply display the variable on the screen or you will still see [object Object]. I'm not familiar with eclipse, but if this code is run on a webpage in any modern browser you can press F12 and then go to the 'Console' tab. Here you could add a line to your code to print this object to the developer console and this will allow you to see everything in the object.
    Code:
    console.log(distribution);
    I only suggest using the console to view the object since there is no 'var_dump()' (a PHP function) type of function in javascript that allows you to display an object/array's values on the page. But if none of this seems to be of any use to you I can download the guassian library and view the output for myself to give you a more direct way of getting your results.