www.webdeveloper.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Website too simple?

Website too simple?

Hi folks,

I haven't posted much on here but I've spent plenty of time reading some of the threads and have learnt a lot :-)

Anyway, I've created a draft website for a friend of mine that he's going to use to promote his business. It's here : http://www.danielklann.com/ftse/

I'd just like to know what people think of it (the layout/design, not the content). I've ensured that the pages validate correctly against the W3C's validator. I like websites that are clean and quick to load but not too bland. I think this site may be a bit on the bland side. What do YOU guys do to liven things up, without adding unnecessary crap to the blend? I don't want to design any Flash animations or anything - I just want to give him a site that he'll like and that his customers will find functional, yet attractive. Any comments are gratefully received. I'm not a web developer by trade and my payment for doing this is a crate of beer - that is presuming he likes it.

Regards,
    Dan
    Last edited by Daniel Klann; 03-06-2004 at 09:14 AM.

I'm not a web developer by trade and my payment for doing this is a crate of beer
    True australian style But shouldnt you say "A slab o' tinnies, mate"?

I think the site looks good, although, it is definetely a tad bland..

I think the best thing to do is stick an image down the right-hand side of each page. An actual photo.

Regards,
    Andrew Buntine.

Furthermore, for a crate of beer, i think hes got himself a pretty good deal.

I think that the page looks great. But for my opinion is that it is too empty.

I can't tell you what you should add to the site, because it looks pretty OK but I don't like so much of white space. But it is also true that this is the page which will be loaded much more quickly