www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Please review my portfolio website

Red face Please review my portfolio website

Hi everyone, I'm new here. I'm also fairly new to the front-end web development industry. I would love to get some reviews on my portfolio website. Thanks!

http://www.sharonchan.ca

Well, the colors are dreadful, the parallax scrolling nonsense makes the page very hard to use and/or annoyingly useless; not rocking 1920x1080 or 2560x1440 to be presented with a page where all that's visible is one massive sentence, or to have the page painful to scroll.

You also have inaccessible fixed metric fonts in the header, the attempt at responsive design is a joke, the 'compacted' menu being counterintuitive and hard to use on mobile (despite the current raging boner most developers seem to have for that garbage right now) the cyan on grey and white on orange is questionable legibility and below accessibility minimums (particularly on the thin fonts further in the page), and there is simply WAY too much wasted white-space that could be better used to deliver content.

Under the hood you have no media target for your stylesheet LINK, a PNG favicon meaning poor support and the use of 'type' is likely to break that some places, the incomplete REL also likely meaning the favicon not working. It suffers from HTML 5 code bloat (not a fan), DIV for nothing, gibberish use of numbered headings, paragraphs doing numbered heading's job, attributes like TARGET that have no business on any site written after 1997 unless you have framesets (which you don't), empty italic tags for what should have either been done on the anchor, or with a span as gilder-levin, paragraphs around non-paragraph elements...