dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Embarrassing 'n00b' question...

Embarrassing 'n00b' question...

I'm a designer who used to hand off his work to coders to finish, but ended up picking up a thing or two about programming over the years. Nowhere near as much as you guys, just enough to get by.

I have a webpage I need to modify (that I did not create) that has an interstitial ad on it. This ad needs to disappear. It might come back later, but for now, we want it gone. Ideally, by modifying as little code as possible.

After searching for every instance of the word "interstitial" on the page, I found these two small scripts :

<script type="text/javascript">
    function pmc_ads_interruptus_single() {
    if ( typeof pmc == 'undefined' || ! pmc ) {
    return;
    }

var home_url = "http://website.com";
    var endpoints = ["interstitial"];
    var current_url = window.location.href;

for ( var i = 0; i < endpoints.length; i++ ) {
    if ( pmc.is_empty( endpoints[ i ] ) ) {
    continue;
    }

var endpoint = endpoints[ i ].toLowerCase();

//check cookie
    var yummy_cookie = pmc.cookie.get( endpoint );

if ( ! pmc.is_empty( yummy_cookie ) ) {
    //cookie is set, skip to next endpoint
    continue;
    }

//cookie not set, save current_url in cookie
    pmc.cookie.set( 'pmc_interrupted_url', encodeURIComponent( current_url ), 300, '/' );

//redirect to endpoint url
    window.location.href = home_url + "/" + endpoint + "/";

//exit this loop
    break;
    }
    }

pmc_ads_interruptus_single();
    </script>
    <script type="text/javascript">
    var pmc_gallery_jsdata = { "gallery_first":0,"ad_click":"2","ad_interstitial":"","interstitial_duration":"","interstitial_start ":0,"shortcode":"0","interstitial_ad_code":"" };
    </script>
    I thought I could solve this on my own, but I was wrong. I tried minor integer modifications (no effect) and even removing both scripts (seems to affect other areas on the site).