www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Export/Import CSV

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    6

    Export/Import CSV

    Would it be correct to assume that data exported to a csv would be able to be re-imported and replace existing data, using export import buttons on the same page?

    Or would it be feasible to have them do different things? Or is that asking for trouble?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    6
    These are the headers for each CSV.


    Export

    Name Airport.Name Destination.Name VehicleType.Name Supplier Cost (EURO) Mark Up % Supplier.Name
    Private Car Majorca (Palma Airport - PMI) Alcudia Private Car (max. 4 persons) 69.3 0 Some Taxi Company


    Import

    Name SupplierCost MarkUp BookingVoucherText PerPersonFare SupplierID AirportID DestinationID VehicleTypeID
    Private Car 50 0 Test Text 0 219 4 288 8

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    6
    Sorry..all the formatting was lost.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Bangladesh
    Posts
    15
    I guess nobody is understanding what are you going to export or import and from where you are trying to do so. Please be specific otherwise no one can help you here.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    19
    Please give more details about your problem then we are Understand easily and give you best solution..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by informalsports View Post
    Please give more details about your problem then we are Understand easily and give you best solution..
    Ok I'll try and be more specific.

    1) Should an Export to CSV feature export in the same format to be read by the Import CSV feature

    2) Would this cause problems with already input data

    3) Having the Export and Import on the page doing different things..would that be bad practice.

    These are the CSV headers

    http://i836.photobucket.com/albums/z...psf29a2025.png

    http://i836.photobucket.com/albums/z...ps6de213f8.png

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Dubai, UAE
    Posts
    149

    Reply

    Yes you can export data in CSV and then you can again import the same CSV file using import export button.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by kiwistech View Post
    Yes you can export data in CSV and then you can again import the same CSV file using import export button.
    As you can see from the screenshots the field names are different, will that not cause a problem?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1,188
    If you want to import data that you have exported then, yes it should be in the same format. But why would you want to do that anyway???

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by jedaisoul View Post
    If you want to import data that you have exported then, yes it should be in the same format. But why would you want to do that anyway???
    To add prices and other info to existing data using the csv.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1,188
    Quote Originally Posted by davetee View Post
    To add prices and other info to existing data using the csv.
    Fair enough.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles