www.webdeveloper.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which HTML should I learn?

Which HTML should I learn?

I am confused about this one. HTML 5 is the most recent version of it, but for some reason, it still isn't completely supported. I have no previous experience with any of them. If I started learning HTML 4.01 now, is it going to become obsolete by the time I can use it well?

And if I start with HTML 5, would I miss out on any important stuff I could have learned in HTML 4.01?

Thanks in advance!
    Share on Google+

Start with the basics of HTML5, i.e. ignore the new stuff (at least at first). That way you wont learn code that is deprecated in 5. When you have a good grasp of the basics, you can start learning the new stuff, but focus on the parts that are widely supported by the major browsers. Also bear in mind that your code needs to degrade gracefully on browsers that do not support the new stuff. E.g. Media queries (or media-specific style sheets) are a must-have for responsive coding, but bear in mind that IE8 and below do not understand them. So your site must work predictably on IE8, albeit without the responsiveness.
    Share on Google+

Very well explained. Thanks.
    Share on Google+

I say learn HTML 4.01 STRICT FIRST, because HTML 5 is a "superset" of HTML 4, which means most everything you learn with the current recommendation (4.01 Strict) can be applied and used in HTML 5.

Though if you learn 4 STRICT first, and learn to use it properly, you'll quickly find that HTML 5 offers no real legitimate improvements, and in many ways is carefully crafted to undo fifteen years of progress... to the point it's a bit shocking anyone who actually knows what HTML is and how to use it would choose HTML 5 by choice.