dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: [RESOLVED] Input element fails in 3 of 7 browsers.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    5

    resolved [RESOLVED] Input element fails in 3 of 7 browsers.

    Hi ya'll, newbie to the forum.
    I've stumped myself or I'm blind...
    My element below Fails in 3 of 7 browsers.
    The failures are Chrome, FF & SeaMonkey. ALL good in Safari, IE, Opera & Maxthon.

    HTML Code:
    <input type="button" name="type id 'captcha-failed'" value="Test Captcha Warning " style="position:absolute; margin-left:10px; margin-top:10px; z-index:0;" onclick="setVisibility('captcha-failed');"/>
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,943
    The value for "name" could not have spaces in html4, but can in html5. I suspect you're running into quirks of the browsers allowing/disallowing it, but I'm not sure why you'd put spaces in there to begin with. Just get rid of the spaces.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    5
    Thanks tracknut. I thought that also. It's not the spaces. I've tested both ways - results are identical.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    5
    Oh, in addition the page Validates in bothW3.org & WDG

  5. #5
    Theres a lot there I'd question -- the spaces and quotes in the name, the style attribute that really doesn't belong in any markup, the absolute positioning (which could wreak all sorts of havoc), margins instead of positioning... the zero index which isn't supported in older browsers (pre CSS 2.1 flavors can't do zero or negative values), and of course the onclick since GOOD scripting should hook the markup, NOT the other way around.

    Though it could also be elements around it interfering; you're using z-index, that's a pretty good indicator you've got other stuff interfering with it. Could we see the rest of the page that is on?

    Just from the CSS alone methinks you overcomplicated something simple, but that's a wild guess without seeing the rest of it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    5
    Thanks deathshadow.
    I'll add to the CSS for it.
    I just don't like going back & forth while developing. The element z-index was at zero because I had completed testing layer visibility. That didn't provide a solution!
    I did, however, just disable all other elements on the page and it is working in all browsers now. So, I'll fire up the other elements 1x1 and see where that gets me.
    Thanks for the nudge!

    I'll follow up with my solution...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    5
    Yup, CSS conflict. **RESOLVED**

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles