www.webdeveloper.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Oh almighty search engine...LIST ME!

Oh almighty search engine...LIST ME!

I think that this new forum will give significant help to developers. I am not sure though, that successful retrieval of domain names and web site content is guarantied by careful coding and included text guides to bots. MONEY is the key for higher listing. I am quite new to web development (just a few years) and I am now more confused about the whole process than when I started. I canít figure out why it takes months for a search engine to list the contents of a web site. Is it the vastness of the internet, the huge amount of data that a search engine has to process or is it the complexity of content validation that is performed (if performed)?

from personal experience and from talking to many people over the years, I am positive that you don't need to spend money to be listed in the search eninges -- at least to be rated well in Google.

The new Yahoo search engine is asking for payment to be guaranteed inclusion -- or, more precisely, -- to be guaranteed to be regularly spidered.

But Google's main search results are all done "organically" -- that is, by Google's spider crawling aruond and indexing pages.

Yes, you can gain benefit from buying Google Ad Words -- but those ads don't affect how you do in the search results.

We created this forum because there is a lot you can do to improve your site's rankings and we hope to help people learn them.

DMOZ.org is a big human edited directory. If you get onto dmoz, you will most likely be on google. You should also submit your site to www.alltheweb.com it is another good search engine. In time if you are on dmoz do not be supprised to find your site on aol, msn, and others if your site is search engine friendly.