www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Connect my website to aptana

Question Connect my website to aptana

Hello,

I own a website, and i don't want to have to wait for my developer for each change i need.
    so i installed Aptana
    And i want to be able to make basic changes for example changing spelling or grammar.

how do i connect Aptana to my website so i should be able to make changes?

I am not a web developer, all i know is my godaddy.com account name and password, and i know that my website is written in php

thank you for your help in advance

What's Aptana?
    JG
    PS - If you're posting here you should be using:

error_reporting(E_ALL | E_NOTICE);
    ini_set('display_errors', '1');

at the top of ALL php code while you develop it!

Hey cttim,

Dude newbie to newbie let me break it down for you brother....

1. As a newbie, rule 1 o 1.. YOU NEVER EVER screw with the original... EVER!!!! are we clear

Your going to need to do this in 2 or 3 steps (programs)

Step 1. Take content off your website.. to PC as a second copy to work on/modify

Step 2. Modify content in Editor

Step 3. Test content before replacing web originals...

Detailed

Step 1. You need to use an FTP program like Filezilla to do this.. by far the most popular/free ftp

Screen Shot

Step 2. You already understand!

Step 3. PHP testing is a little tricky, it only works online.. to get around that you make a mini server on your PC
    with a program called XAMPP by Apache.. pick the right one for your PC... Will take some time/newbie stuffing around....

Download links: FileZilla and XAMPP

YouTube: both + Tutorials for endless demos

Sorry mate not as easy as you hoped

Closing note: Do not mess with the online original!.. Your code editor "Aptana" may make code corrections it thinks are errors or inefficient, you dont notice.. It doesnt work.. what will you do then??... You beat he'll make you pay double for the clean up while laughing in your face!!!!