dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Review of our website's new 3D widget

Review of our website's new 3D widget

Hello All,

I'm glad I came across this forum as I could use some help. My website is www.storyleather.com and I work as a Community Manager there with a very small team. We're still in start up mode and we recently revamped our site to include a 3D modeling tool.

I know the site has some problems with IE and we're looking into it, but I'm more concerned about how intuitive the site is. Any feedback is appreciated because A lot of time went into this and we want to get it right.

Thank you in advance.

This might be a silly question, but where is it on that site? I followed the customization links and in EVERY browser here I'm getting a blank white area at the top of the page when I get to where I THINK it should be:

http://www.cutcodedown.com/for_others/jly009/broken.jpg

That said, just getting to that point sucked thanks to the site itself being knee deep in endless "gee ain't it neat" scripttardery for nothing, and two major /fail/ at web design; inaccessible fixed width layout and absurdly undersized fixed metric fonts. Those alone make it an example of how not to build a website, before we even talk the gibberish heading orders and lack of a rational document structure...

Much less the absurd half a minute page-load thanks to the grape-ape ridiculous 181 files totaling 2 megabytes compressed, 4.3 megabytes uncompressed... and FOR WHAT?!? A flat white fixed width layout?

The 24 stylesheets doing the job of maybe TWO files, with 293k of CSS doing the job of probably 30k? Not good... then the scripting... mein gott all the "JS for nothing" coming to an over-the-top 2.2 MEGABYTES of code to be run in 52 separate files?