dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Disable Virtual Direct Listing?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    In my house
    Posts
    4,004

    Disable Virtual Directory Listing?

    Greetings and Salutations.

    How would one go about disabling the virtual directory listing on Apache? I do not wish for people to snoop through my directories.
    Last edited by Paul Jr; 03-28-2004 at 12:02 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auburn, AL
    Posts
    9,222
    download iis and...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    In my house
    Posts
    4,004
    Originally posted by PeOfEo
    download iis and...
    Watch it there, Peo.
    I'm an Apache/PHP man; you'll never turn me to the Dark Side!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Boston Area, Massachusetts
    Posts
    3,489

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    In my house
    Posts
    4,004
    Awesome! Got it all figured out after a bit of tinkering, thanks Fred!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    6,276
    Originally posted by PeOfEo
    download iis and...
    Where from? I need it to test my .asp (and maybe .aspx) pages rather than having to keep uploading them.
    Every fight is a food fight when you’re a cannibal.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auburn, AL
    Posts
    9,222
    what is your os. xp home or pro? If you have pro you already have iis, its on the instal cd. MS disabled iis for xp home but you can run pws from xp home.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    6,276
    Originally posted by PeOfEo
    If you have pro you already have iis
    I know, I don't.

    So the question becomes, where can I download Personal Web Server?
    Every fight is a food fight when you’re a cannibal.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auburn, AL
    Posts
    9,222
    That's a tuffy, lol. I would look for it on microsoft.com in the downloads area (though I did not see it there you can take another look) otherwise test your luck with kazaa. If you do not find it download xp pro (maybe from a legal source which will ask for your credit card) and if that source does not include a serial I am sure you can find it at http://www.serials.ws
    *notice I left a foot note from a legal source so I was not encourageing piracy

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,592
    Originally posted by PeOfEo
    That's a tuffy, lol. I would look for it on microsoft.com in the downloads area (though I did not see it there you can take another look) otherwise test your luck with kazaa. If you do not find it download xp pro (maybe from a legal source which will ask for your credit card) and if that source does not include a serial I am sure you can find it at http://www.serials.ws
    *notice I left a foot note from a legal source so I was not encourageing piracy
    Gee, Peo, can't you get in trouble for recommending using illegal stuff like KaZaA and serial websites?
    -Dan

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auburn, AL
    Posts
    9,222
    yes, but I reccomended getting xp from a legal provider, and if my memory serves me correctly pws is free so it doesnt matter where you get it really. If you want to do local asp.net testing lavalamp I reccomend the cassini server
    http://www.asp.net/Projects/Cassini/...ndex=0&tabid=1
    it sucks for remote hosting, and this version is not setup to accept remote requests but there is another version of it that can do remote requests but it is also geared toward local hosting so it is not practical to try and run a working site from it.
    Last edited by PeOfEo; 03-28-2004 at 05:43 PM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    6,276
    Well that's great and all but I've not yet progressed onto ASP.NET are there any ASP servers out there?

    I only need it to test things with at home.
    Every fight is a food fight when you’re a cannibal.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auburn, AL
    Posts
    9,222
    http://www.w3schools.com/asp/asp_install.asp that should help you out. I do not know of anything other then IIS or PWS for asp classic, I have heard a version of asp can be run from apache but I know nothing about it... buntine probably knows.
    edit: Humm pws might not run on xp home.. I thought it did but ribeyed is saying it doesn't so I really do not know. I know pws can run on win2k 98 95 and me though.
    Ribeyed says do this: http://www.15seconds.com/issue/020118.htm

    If it works then you would be able to run asp.net from this too since it is IIS. Neat little work around.
    Last edited by PeOfEo; 03-28-2004 at 08:10 PM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles