www.webdeveloper.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: how to setup linux web server

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    1,138

    how to setup linux web server

    i am wondering how i can setup a linux webserver up to run on my home network....and maybe on internet....where can i download the files to setup a web server? Is this very hard to do? is it free?hopefully!
    Last edited by sirhcchris3; 03-31-2004 at 07:13 AM.
    Chris.Martz.me
    Some things Man was never meant to know. For everything else, there's Google.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    8
    Apache.org has a free web server. The most widely used on the internet, actually. If you are familiar with linux, you should have no problem installing it.
    MonkeyBoy
    http://coupon-monkey.com
    Jr. Web Dev

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    1,138
    which linux os should i run the server with....where can i get it free?
    Chris.Martz.me
    Some things Man was never meant to know. For everything else, there's Google.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    1,138
    i'm downloading linux as I speak and want to know if apache will run .asp code....i program in classic asp and need a web server in linux to run .asp.....please help
    Chris.Martz.me
    Some things Man was never meant to know. For everything else, there's Google.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The Dryer
    Posts
    538
    asp isn't going to run on linux.

    you need a windows operating system and IIS/PWS to run asp.net/classic.




    .
    .
    .
    my advice: learn php

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    8
    Chilisoft used to make an ASP engine that would run in linux/unix environments. I think I heard that Sun bought them out, though. Sun probably charges for it. The Cheat is right. You should just use PHP. For simple to mid-level web applications you can't beat it.
    MonkeyBoy
    http://coupon-monkey.com
    Jr. Web Dev

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    1,138
    i found how to run asp.net on linux and am wondering...if it can run .net....will it run classic asp coding? this is where i;m getting this from....http://www.pcquest.com/content/searc...162&way=search
    Chris.Martz.me
    Some things Man was never meant to know. For everything else, there's Google.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auburn, AL
    Posts
    9,222
    I am rather supprised asp.net will run on linux. Yes asp classic will run on linux, apache is the server you are going to want to use infact. http://www.apache-asp.org/ downside is apache asp cannot be done in vbscript, its perl only. There might be other ways to run asp from a linux box, but this is the only way I have seen.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    1,138
    after i download the i386 folder from the ftp server.....how do i know what else i need to download and which cd do i put what on?
    Chris.Martz.me
    Some things Man was never meant to know. For everything else, there's Google.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Jerryville, Tejas
    Posts
    11,715
    I don't know what distro you've pulled down but blow it off and go download the 3 ISO Mankrake distro, burn the CDs and do a full install. You'll wind up with a running system including Apache, PHP, a couple of database managers; all installed, configured and running with none of the hassles you seem to be going through.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The Dryer
    Posts
    538
    Originally posted by ray326
    I don't know what distro you've pulled down but blow it off and go download the 3 ISO Mankrake distro, burn the CDs and do a full install. You'll wind up with a running system including Apache, PHP, a couple of database managers; all installed, configured and running with none of the hassles you seem to be going through.
    mandrake

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    1,138
    so i don't need the os i need the isos?
    Chris.Martz.me
    Some things Man was never meant to know. For everything else, there's Google.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    8
    The ISO's are just file images of CD's. Most CD burning software will burn an ISO. The ISO contains an image of the CD with the OS on it. Once you have the 3 ISO's burned onto CD, you will just install the OS from these 3 CD's.

    The reason a lot of Operating Systems distribute the CD's as ISO's, is so you can download the ISO file and just burn it onto a CD, instead of ordering the CD in the mail.
    MonkeyBoy
    http://coupon-monkey.com
    Jr. Web Dev

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Jerryville, Tejas
    Posts
    11,715
    To add to what MonkeyBoy (you're not really Ballmer are you? ) said. When you burn the ISO images of the CDs you will be able to boot off the first one right into the installer; just like any Windows distribution.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auburn, AL
    Posts
    9,222

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles