www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Background Images

Hybrid View

Background Images

Hello all. I am very new to CSS and have found myself in a bind.

I am trying to insert a background image, that is in the right margin. The image appears fine in the editor, but when it is viewed, it is cut off. Also, I would like for the text that will be placed there to have some space between the borders of the image.

Here is the code I used for the image:

.quicklink {background-image: url(images/bor_beige.gif);
    background-repeat: no-repeat;
    MARGIN-TOP: 0px; FONT-SIZE: 12px; WIDTH: 200px; HEIGHT: 245px; FLOAT: right; MARGIN-BOTTOM: 1.5em; MARGIN-LEFT: 1.5em; WIDTH: 25%; COLOR: #1e56a0; TEXT-INDENT: -0.33em; LINE-HEIGHT: 1.5em; FONT-STYLE: normal; FONT-FAMILY: Verdana, Arial, Geneva, Helvetica, sans-serif; BACKGROUND-COLOR: #f3f0cd}

.quicklink P {PADDING-RIGHT: 1em; PADDING-LEFT: 2em; PADDING-BOTTOM: 1.33em; PADDING-TOP: 0.5em}

The url is: http://iwdtestsite.com/Premier/home.htm. Here is a link to the CSS: http://iwdtestsite.com/Premier/main.txt.

Thanks in advance for any and all your help.

Magikey

[moderator's note: edited to correct links]
    Last edited by DaveSW; 04-01-2004 at 11:05 AM.

Can you send us a screenshot, and annotate what should be where? In IE6 I'm not sure what the problem is.
    In a world without walls and fences - who needs Windows and Gates?! - Unknown Author
    "And there's Bill Gates, the...most...famous...man in the...ah...Microsoft." -- A TV commentator for the 2000 Olympics.

Web Design Faq? | W3C | Validator | Accessibility testing | Speed up your PC | Wura | Box Model Research

Remove that width:25% and change the width:200px to width:166px and you should be good to go. That second width is what's getting you.

Background Images