www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: how do you cloak/mask a url?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    128

    how do you cloak/mask a url?

    anyone know how to cloak/mask a url? ive seen it on webpages and free redriction services before...but i dont know how to do it server side - do u use htaccess???? im totally clueless....
    thanks for any help in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Dartmoor [Holiday]
    Posts
    2,382
    Normally it's done using a frameset, so the top-level frameset is in the domain that appears in the address bar, and the only frame loads a page from the actual source. For example (this would go in the index page for the cloaking domain):

    <frameset>
    <frame src="http://actual-url.example.com/page.html">
    </frameset>

    Adam

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    128
    thanks, but does it matter if the a person's browser supports frames?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Dartmoor [Holiday]
    Posts
    2,382
    Yes; if frames are not supported they will see the contents of any <noframes> tags as usual, so this should usually include a direct link to the content.

    Adam

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auburn, AL
    Posts
    9,222
    masking the url is immature and lame, why are you doing it. It is just an inconveiniance for users.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    128
    well because as an imature and lame begining web-developer i am thinking of creating one of those subdomain redirection sites

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Dartmoor [Holiday]
    Posts
    2,382
    PeOfEo does to some extent have a point, but I can see that some people would rather have a domain/subdomain URL only than some convoluted path. Perhaps you could offer the option of redirection as well as cloaking, to satisy us pedantic anti-frames developers.

    Adam

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auburn, AL
    Posts
    9,222
    Originally posted by akadis
    well because as an imature and lame begining web-developer i am thinking of creating one of those subdomain redirection sites
    Well guve the user an option about weather to mask or not because url masking can cause errors in some client and server side scripts. For some reason it was interfearing with a few of my forms one time for example.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    US
    Posts
    1
    it's not that bad of an idea.. the feature could be used to do some really good things for people that want to just make a really well organized and professional looking website. well that's what i'd like to use this feature for. i dont want to do any trickery. but i do see how it could be used for some real evil as well.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1

    masking a URL

    <frameset>
    <frame src="http://actual-url.example.com/page.html">
    </frameset>

    this is to be used. can anyone provide more details on how to use a frameset in an aspx file for a web application as I am new to this field?? it is really urgent.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1

    cloak it

    I use a url cloaker, even if my site is down the links work like clockwork.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles