www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: margin:0 vs.margin:0 auto

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,632

    margin:0 vs.margin:0 auto

    http://www.matts-website.net/cj/

    It fits a 800X600 resolution if I don't use auto. I obviously want to use auto.

    If you can knock out the white space below the menu images in Mozilla/FF then that would be great to.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    21,654
    white spaces: add vertical-align: bottom; to #menu img

    Wouldn't reducing the width of #content be acceptable?

    Typo:
    Code:
    h1 img {
      width:375px;
      height:50px;
      }
    Last edited by Fang; 05-08-2004 at 06:31 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,632
    I probably have that link bookmarked somewhere, but it just got lost in all of my web design links. I went and fixed it, and fixed the typo. I did shrink the oontainer down to 700px. Not that's an ideal solution, but it will work for now. The thing I saw after I posted is the border on top of the footer is wider than the border that's on the bottom on the <h1> tag, and I'm not sure why.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    21,654
    Change the #footer <div> to a <p>. I bit odd
    edit: I had another look at this, it looked familiar. You have to specify the font-size:1em; for H1. Leave #footer as <div>.
    The W3C suggests using their default style sheet which specifies, among other elements, the headers. Using their style sheet would mean redesigning your page! Another recomendation to follow from W3C

    Don't forget to close ALL elements in XHTML 1.1
    Last edited by Fang; 05-09-2004 at 07:20 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,632
    Ok, I got that fixed. I'm working on the resume page and now the menu "floats" to the left of where it's supposed to. I went through and added padding:0; to a number of elements and that's helped a bunch, but it isn't where it needs to be.
    Last edited by spufi; 05-09-2004 at 11:33 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,632
    I went and found a fix for the menu issue. It's not ideal, but it works, so currently there is no real CSS issue. For now.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles