dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Rookie javascript question

Rookie javascript question

I'm having an issue getting my Button to work. When I comment out the elButton.onclick and refresh the page I can see the output change however when I add the button back in I have a clickable button that does nothing.. I am studying software development cross-training over from mechanical engineering. I am new to this forum recommended by my instructor. Any help would be appreciated, Thank You.

<!doctype html>
    <html lang="en">
    <head>

<meta charset="utf-8">
    <title>Swami Random Fortune*Display</title>
    <style>

#output {
    width: 400px;
    height: 400px;
    color:#DAA520;
    background-color: cornflowerblue;
    border-radius: 19px;
    box-shadow: 5px 5px 10px red;
    margin: 20px auto;
    font-style: bold;
    font-size:2em;
    text-align: center;

}

</style>
    </head>

<body>

<div id= "output">
    <br>

<input id="button" type="button" value="See Your Future Career!">
    </div>

<script>

var output = document.getElementById("output");
    var elButton = document.getElementById("button");
    var tech = [ "Networking", "Robotics", "Info Technology", "Cyber Security", "Nano Technology", "Software Development", "Technopunking"];
    var randomIndex;
    var randomCourse;

//elButton.onclick = getRandom(min,max);

function getRandom(min,max) {

return Math.floor(Math.random() * (max - min + 1) ) + min;

}

randomIndex = getRandom(0, tech.length-1);

randomCourse = tech[ randomIndex ];

output.innerHTML = "I really think that you would be great at: <br><br> " + randomCourse;

</script>

</body>

</html>

1. when posting code, use forum BBcode tags, it helps everyone.

2. if you are using a button, you are better off setting the click event in HTML eg.<input name="myButtonName" tyoe="button" value="myClickValue" onclick="myFunctionToCall();">