dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: I'm new to web designing and I need help

I'm new to web designing and I need help

Hi everyone. I'm new to website development and I've been teaching myself with the help of some YouTube videos. However, something has been bothering me.It might look like a stupid question but i'm sure i am not the only one. How can i develop a blogging site for someone that does not know anything about programming? Do i have to use as many <article> as possible.

You can try wordpress. It's best for blogging. It doesn't really require any coding.
    You can get it here:
    https://wordpress.org/download/
    I'm sure it has a lot of good video tutorials on youtube for beginners. That should help you get started

I think it depends entirely on what you mean by "developing a blogging site"...
    Are you wanting to make a site to rival the likes of Blogger and WordPress? Somewhere that anyone can sign up to and write their own blogs?
    Or are you just wanting to create a blog for an individual person to write on..?

If the latter, well - as apat85 has said, there is WordPress as your best (and most supported) option, and also Ghost.
    If you're wanting to do the former, and create something that rivals some of the biggest blogging software names out there... Then you're in a whole different ballgame, and I'd suggest doing a lot more reading and practising before running with the project.

I appreciate your help but i want to build it from scratch.

If you are just learning from scratch learn everything you need at codecademy.com it's a really helpful site for beginners and those who just need to refresh there skills.
    What apat85 said is right though a Content Management System is the standard at least for the blog porportion of your website and requires no less skill.For example you could build your theme for wordpress from the ground up by following guides that allow you to port your html/css across to the way wp wants it to be written.