dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: dabblesmith.com

dabblesmith.com

Hi all,

I could really use a review of my website - dabblesmith.com. Functionally, I think it's fine, but I would like to be able to generate more traffic and do better affiliate marketing.

Also, I could use a quick review of my other site - webdesign.dabblesmith.com.

Thanks in advance for your reviews.

elkevo

Opened your site and hit F12
    see lots of errors.

6 HTML errors
    https://validator.w3.org/nu/?doc=htt...lesmith.com%2F
    CSS Errors (57) Warnings (66)
    https://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/...rning=&lang=en

Needs lots of work.

Hey @elkevo As a designer I can tell you a few things. I like the concept of the design that it is simple and easy to use, but work more on the things how they are placed (restructure them) and make a logo. Look on the internet for designs and you may become with an idea how to improve yours. As a programmer I will tell you to try to fix the errors or to minimize the number of them at least.
    Don't give up and keep working on both sites. I'm looking further to see what you gonna do next.

I'm pretty sure the errors are from the Wordpress theme I'm using and I'm not overly concerned about them. Sure, as a programmer, the errors don't sit right with me either, but do they prevent the page from running or is the css breaking the page layout? Any fixes would probably be overwritten by a theme update anyway...

I have been struggling with the layout of the sidebars. What elements to include, do away with, and where to place them. I'm assuming that is what you were referring to. I actually feel ok about the post layout. And you're right, I definitely need a logo... I know a guy...

I appreciate the feedback!

Having a look at your code, it appears to me that you have something like 1,600 lines of CSS and then your importing more CSS sheets...