www.webdeveloper.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with Design

Help with Design

I am a programmer not a designer so i need some help or at least some constructive critisism. What do you think? This is my best design yet and it still sucks. It is for a web game i am creating.
    http://www.mystupidcrap.com/scott

It looks fine to me. I would wait until you've finished the programming to do the interface though; just make something useable. Especially since if you wait you might be able to get more help with it. If you can wait until after the 23rd I'll give you a hand myself, but I have exams until then.

thanks for the reply does anyone else have anything to say.... Well i was looking through this forum and i see alot of people talking about W3C validation so i used the validatior and fixed everything but it says im not supposed to have a height attribute for my tables, but if i get rid of it it completely messes up my site. Just wondering whats with that.

<tr><td width="100%" height=1 bgcolor="#5F5F5F"></td></tr>
    <tr><td width="100%" height=1 bgcolor="#101010"></td></tr>

Why oh why?

Here's one solution to your tables problem, don't use them for layout. The above code shouldn't even be used and should be replaced with CSS instead. Read "Designing with Web Standards" to help see why you need to change things around. You need a mere fraction of the code you are using currently.

Upon further looking because I figured you had it wrong, here's some code I found.

<font color="#cccccc" face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="3"><b>News</b></font>

What is the word "News" really in this case? It's a header, so use a header tag, ie <h3>, and CSS to style the tag as needed.
    Last edited by spufi; 06-06-2004 at 06:10 AM.