www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: A Few Questions ))

A Few Questions ))

Hey guys, hope you are all well.

This thread is just a follow up to my previous thread in which I was asking general questions on whether or not to study and get into web development. In the end, I made up my mind to go for it and learn. I have been learning almost everyday and made some decent progress (I think, lol)

I just have a couple of questions if you guys don't mind answering, sorry I am a complete newb and just need some clarification.

The first question is, regarding the way to learn code. I initially started learning on freecodecamp because I saw the positive reviews over the internet and it looked like a good place to start. As I progressed through the tutorials I came to a realization on the way its teaching people how to code. From my newb observation it looks like it teaches people how to "copy" code and doesn't teach core priniciples. Maybe this is what a CS degree does? So i am really confused on the best way for a newb like me to actually learn how to program. That being said, people on that forum said they completed the certificates on there and got a job..which kind of confuses me, do companies just want Junior Web Developers to know how to "copy" code and not the core principles? This is really hard to explain, I am probably explaining what I mean really wrong, but just need some opinions on this.

In addition, I was using codeacademy and was very happy with it, but I realised that some of the syntax was different and when I used Notepad++, things like "let" and "console.log" weren't recognized. Can someone tell me why please?

Finally, can you guys recommend some really good resources to learn from? I have been following "Thenewboston" tutorials on youtube which I think are really great, but I need something more.

Many Thanks guys.

See what you can get for free...