Thread: Looking for a new Website building program. Any suggestions.

Looking for a new Website building program. Any suggestions.

Okay. I am new here and although I have been building websites for 20 years, because of the advances in web technology, from when I first started, I would call myself a beginner in my understanding of how things work these days. In an effort to give you the the information to better help me, let me tell you a little about myself.

1. I have never built websites professionally. I built them for personal purposes for myself or for friends or family.

2. I started building sites back in 1997 with a program call AOLPress, but all of my website development has been done with Microsoft FrontPage 2000 and 2003 since 1999 when I went to Technical college to become Frontpage certified).

3. I don't not know how to write HTML code or any other type of code. Although I can sometimes read code and edit it.

4. I am old and learn slowly, but willing to try.

The reason I am here, is because I need help. It has been obvious for many years that I needed to ditch Frontpage and learn something new, and like a stubborn mule I refused to move forward until I had no other choice. It has not been that I did not want to move forward. It's just that every time I tried, I could not find a suitable replacement for Frontpage. What I mean by this is that I could not find a modern full fledged WYSIWYG program with a huge library of canned code that I could build with, without needing to write code from scratch.

At long last I decided to take the plunge and learn a completely new program. So, about two months ago I started building a brand new site with Wordpress. Needless to say, the learning curve has all but melted my old brain, but have been able to build a site to satisfy my needs. Here is it is. www.thejungleexplorer.com.