www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Comparing An Entered Number To A Standard

Comparing An Entered Number To A Standard

Hi Everyone!

Firstly, I am a newbie here, so please bear with me as I clumsily get around.

Secondly, I am the Website Manager for my company, Exeter Fuel (www.exeterfuel.com). I am not a programmer by any means, but a writer who's been requested to handle managing the site, so I am learning and if I am in the wrong place for this, please let me know!

Now, if you are still with me, I need to know how to do a certain task for one of my webpages. It is an order online page which asks a number of questions. One of the specifications for ordering calls for a quantity of fuel (in gallons) requested. I currently have a text box for that, but my boss wants to make sure they can't enter any number less than a minimum. For example, to order home heating oil the required minimum is 100 gals. Is there any javascript available that could take whatever the user entered and compare that to the minimum and kick back a message saying they must enter something equal to or greater than 100 if it's less than 100? I hope that question makes sense! I have checked the JavaScriptSource website, but can't seem to find anything that might work.

The page in question is https://exeterfuel.ixwebhosting.com/orderonline.html

Any help would be greatly appreciated! If you need more info, just holler! If I am out-of-line doing this, just holler about that too!
    BobE

Here is one of your text boxes from your page...
    Code:
    <TR>
              <TD width="50%"><INPUT type=radio value=diesel name=product2> <FONT 
                face=arial,helvetica size=-2><B>Diesel (Min. 500 gal.)</B></FONT></TD>
              <TD width="50%"><INPUT type=radio value=diefill name=qty> <FONT 
                face=arial,helvetica size=-2><B>Fill Tank</B> or <B>Quantity</B> 
                <INPUT size=6 name=qty onBlur="checkMin(500, this.value, this)"></FONT></TD></TR>