www.webdeveloper.com
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: My First New Valid Design

My First New Valid Design

Ahhkay, I really DON'T consider myself a web designer. At one time I thought maybe, but I have realized I'm terrible at design. In the recent months, you have all converted me here. So I have redone my website with valid XHTML 1.0 and total Table-less CSS layout. But my design skills are terrible. So, here's the new design (With some filler latin, I haven't worked on content yet. I want to get a final design first.)

New Design

Still much more work to go into it, but *deep breathe* I want all of your opinion. What can I do to make it better? Like I said, I'm not really creative, I enjoy the coding aspect more than the design. Hence the title, A Web Developer's Haven. I love PHP and web technologies. This is mon personal website, where I will showcase some of my scripts, post links to cool places, the usual kind of stuff. I'm not a professional designer (thank god), so I figured it best to ask some real ones. Whaddya think?

Its valid and all but its pretty darned basic looking. Put it in a centered box and give it some flanking menus make it white and then give it a fancy fish, butterly or something else on the banner until it looks exactly like http://www.ryanbrill.com

funny peo lol.

I would say center the banner maybe. Instead of using the links like that use an unordered list as it is a list of links with this you might able to make some boxes with some nice roll overs or something. And yes like peo says put it in a centered container box.

Ach, Peo, you would even mention Ryan's and mine website in the same post? I visit it constantly for design ideas, but I'm just not that good, sadly. But, you say put me content in a centered box? Should it have a different background? Should the links (in this unordered list) be in a seperate, side menu?

EDIT: How do I customize list bullets? Like Ryan's? I have to make my own, but then what?