dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: What d'yawl think?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    613

    What d'yawl think?

    So here's my web page:
    Zingmatter Web Development
    I need to work on the text a bit. And the link text on the submenus is probably too small but see what you think....

    There's a little bit of flash (only if you have the player installed) and it's cookied to appear only on your first visit.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,632
    Looking at your code, I assume you are going to be adding some more stuff because you have <div> tags with no info in them. I would trim the width down so it's at least 800X600 friendly. I would then look at what it would look like if a person used a resolution bigger than 1024X768.

    I know the number are low for people with JS disabled, but happens if a person has JS disabled?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    613
    The empty div tags used to hold <img> tags for positioning. In the style sheet I now use background-image: url('pic'). Having removed the <img> I assemed the div element would still have to be somewhere in the document. Would <div class="bgpic" /> alone be sufficent?

    I reckon it looks at the big resolution but it's true it's a bit big for 800x600.

    As for javascript, I suppose the mouse-over buttons could be converted to CSS but will that work on all browsers?

    Thanks for the input...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Warning: main(location.php): failed open stream
    Posts
    1,119
    on my first visit the portfolio buttons and about button didnt show

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    613
    This is an oddity with FireFox I noticed (have posted previously to this forum here about it but not yet solved) The HTML and CSS is valid so dare I say it...something buggy with FireFox? Did you get this on FireFox?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    473
    it looks right in FF .9 maybe it was fixed.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Warning: main(location.php): failed open stream
    Posts
    1,119
    Originally posted by zingmatter
    This is an oddity with FireFox I noticed (have posted previously to this forum here about it but not yet solved) The HTML and CSS is valid so dare I say it...something buggy with FireFox? Did you get this on FireFox?
    i was using k-meleon though, hmm maybe it its just a bug with the mozilla 1.5 which k-meleon is based on

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    613
    Think I've sorted it...the div tags were nested (that shouldn't have been a problem) but separating them seemed to do the trick (for now - I really want the whole thing to be centered on the page but finding the time to get on with it...)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles