dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: How to create a simple CSS layout

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Rhode Island, United States of America
    Posts
    448

    How to create a simple CSS layout

    Hey guys
    I was working on a CSS tutorial on how to make a very simple layout using Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict and Pure CSS. Wondering what you guys though of it:
    Part 1:
    http://www.subsilvernet.com/more.php?id=16_0_1_0
    Part 2:
    http://www.subsilvernet.com/more.php?id=23_0_1_0

    So what do you think?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,576
    happen to look at that page in a browser lately?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Rhode Island, United States of America
    Posts
    448
    Yes....I know. Let me guess...a good browser? Unfortuanetaly for some extreamly weird reason, they (those damn tab things) seem to float above everything else except in IE...shudders

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Rhode Island, United States of America
    Posts
    448
    I had a burst of insight and finally fixed the tabs. I accedentally for some weird reason had too small of a height--lol...20px...more like 200px...lol

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,576
    still looks awful...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Rhode Island, United States of America
    Posts
    448
    uh...could you send me a screenshot. To me it looks fine. What browser are you using. I've tested it in mozzilla, firefox, and ie...im guna do netscape and opera later though

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,576
    Firefox .8
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Rhode Island, United States of America
    Posts
    448
    no. I fixed it...thats too weird!

    I fixed it like 2 hours ago! It was doing that, and then stopped. It looks fine in my firefox!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    High on life
    Posts
    10,104
    Did you refresh the page, Sam?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    610
    cleared the cache?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    High on life
    Posts
    10,104
    Shouldn't need to clear the cache. The CSS file needs to be reloaded, that's all.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,576
    I refreshed serveral times and it didn't change, but I just cleared the cache and that fixed it...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    High on life
    Posts
    10,104
    Very interesting...

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,592
    Originally posted by pyro
    Very interesting...
    Yes, for some reason, Firefox seems to cache CSS files once in a while... I've noticed this on a couple of sites, including yours, Ryan. When you made thsoe changes a while back (with the BB glow, and such), I needed to clear my cache and everything to be able to see the changes...

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    High on life
    Posts
    10,104
    Yes, it does cache the .css file, but hitting refresh should have caused it to reload, I'd think.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles