www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: HTML Editor w/ template support (not Dreamweaver)

HTML Editor w/ template support (not Dreamweaver)

I've been using notepad for my web programming for 10 years and I don't have any problems with it. However, my latest client asked me to create his page in Dreamweaver so he could continue development once I was finished with the project.

After painfully dealing with all of Dreamweaver's annoying 'features', I couldn't stand the messy end result. I convinced him to let me design the site with web standards and then find him some software that would use a template system similar to Dreamweaver's.

If you haven't used it before, it allows you to create one template, and then create new files based on that template. But the template code is locked and greyed out, allowing the person creating the new page to focus on the content that is being changed, and not the structure of the page.

The problem that I have with Dreamweaver, is that it is constantly trying to rewrite my code for me. Adding useless lines and line feeds that make it unreadable in the end.

Has anyone used a nice program that does this? Or does anyone know how to make Dreamweaver behave?

Thanks
    Phil
    "With your feet on the air, and your head in the ground"

If you have access to a server-side language you could simply include the top and bottom half of the layout structure, here is the source of one of my ASP pages, recent.asp:
    Code:
    <%@ language="VBscript" %>
    <% option explicit %>
    <!--#include file="initiate.asp"-->
    <%
    call top(" &gt; Most Recent Comments")
    %>
    <h2>Coming Soon</h2>
    <%
    call bottom()
    %>
    The first two lines are neccessary for ASP, the third includes a file with many-a-funtion in it. Then a subroutine is called, the arguement is to provide that page with a unique title, then there's an <h2> (that's where any other content would go as well), and finally the subroutine bottom is called.