www.webdeveloper.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: first web developer job

first web developer job

Hello...
    I am just wondering how do you guys get your first web developer job. I graduated last year and has been a FoxPro programmer for 15 months. I want to change my career path towards web developing, but donít know what I should do. I am getting my Web Developer Certification which ends in October 2004. I thought it will be easier for me to get a web developerís job if I am certified. However, I have been searching for web developing opportunities in Washington D.C area and couldnít really find any entry-level opportunities. Please helpÖ.I am really interested in this field.
    Thanks...

The way i see it in my area is that you may not get a job straight away but why not try some freelancing in the mean time till you find a job. You could always advertise yourself around your area or do some charity web site work to get your name out.

Hope that helps mate.

For starters, you could start off by studying scripting languages, such as, PHP, ASP.NET, or ColdFusion.

Oh yeah, and make sure you learn 'web standards and semantics' and also 'accessibility'.

Regards,
    Jaime

"Everything in a web browser."

Originally posted by sharkey
    The way i see it in my area is that you may not get a job straight away but why not try some freelancing in the mean time till you find a job. You could always advertise yourself around your area or do some charity web site work to get your name out.

Hope that helps mate.