dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Flash 5 and ip addresses

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    38

    Question Flash 5 and ip addresses

    I need to know how to print up someones IP Address in Flash 5.

    Can anyone please tell me how to do this I don't want a serverside language to do this cause the server hasn't got the capability to host them so please javascript or sumething please.

    And I need to know how to print up the date and time aswell please.

    Thank you.

    Crypto.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Dartmoor [Holiday]
    Posts
    2,382
    You can't get the local IP address in plain JavaScript, and to the best of my knowledge you can't in ActionScript either. You need a server-side language of some kind.

    This tutorial explains how you can do dates and times.

    Adam

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    38
    Sorry I don't think i explained it correctly my flash movie has to be able to run on a web server with no server side languages and print up the users (remote) IP Adress (xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx) aswell as be able to print up the date (mm-dd-yy) and time (hh:mm:ss(24 hour clock)).

    Crypto

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Dartmoor [Holiday]
    Posts
    2,382
    You explained correctly, and I answered appropriately. To the best of my knowledge getting the remote IP address with client-side scripting is not possible. The date and time is covered in the tutorial I linked to.

    Adam

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    38
    Ok, Sorry I'm getting tirred I didn't see the link.

    And do you know what language flash uses is it VB?

    Crypto.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    38
    Ok so how do you print the IP Address up on the screen with php?
    I have the Apache web srever and the php server all setup correctley.

    I know the php comand is echo $_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']; but how do I make flash 5 able to understand it and print it on the screen?

    Or can I make flash 5 able to read java script code ie. <script> foobar </script> cause i found some code that is suposed to print the ip address up in that.


    Crypto
    Last edited by crypto; 09-13-2004 at 06:02 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Dartmoor [Holiday]
    Posts
    2,382
    Flash uses ActionScript for scripting - it is very similar to JavaScript, but has objects suitable for manipulating Flash files rather than HTML pages. In addition, it is bytecode-compiled when you create a Flash file.

    I'm not an expert on Flash, but some of the others may be able to show you how to transfer data between PHP and Flash files.

    Adam

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    390
    Below is a method that illustrates how to communicate from ASP to Flash. The theory would be the exact same in PHP, with just a little syntax change.

    http://www.mikeweiner.com/trials.asp?trialType_id=1

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles